LISTEN: Official theme song of Team Philippines in 2019 SEA Games

Nov 4, 2019

ORGANIZERS hope to pump athletes up during the Southeast Asian Games with some tom-tom beats and heavy guitars from a veteran Pinoy rock band with the release of the official theme song of Team Philippines.

Pilipinas, recorded by rock band Johnny Cross, will serve as the anthem of the Philippine team members when they compete against Southeast Asian rivals in the biennial conclave.

Words written by Riera Mallari, who is also sports editor of The Standard, and music by Daily Tribune photographer Roman Prospero, the song was launched last week and posted on the official Facebook account of Team Philippines for the 2019 SEA Games.

The song is, of course, different from the official theme song of the 2019 Games, We Win As One, which is performed by Lea Salonga and composed by Ryan Cayabyab.

Mallari is Johnny Cross frontman, Prospero on guitars, Yann Evasco on bass, and Kams Olea and Mikee Cabrera on drums.

Continue reading below ↓

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos
Read Next
Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result