Winners, losers: Meneses, Zamora win mayor posts, Guiao not as lucky

May 14, 2019

FRANCIS Zamora headlined the sports personalities who emerged winners in the 2019 midterm elections.

The former La Salle Green Archer ended the five decade-long strangehold of the Ejercito Estrada clan in San Juan politics, collecting 35,060 votes to beat Janella Ejercito Estrada's 24,813 and win the city's mayoral post.

Former PBA MVP and former Jose Rizal University coach Vergel Meneses was also proclaimed as the new mayor of Bulakan town in Bulacan after besting relative Piccolo Meneses by a comfortable margin.

Continue reading below ↓

Southeast Asian Games gold medalist for fencing Richard Gomez won another term as Ormoc mayor in Leyte while player agent Matthew Manotoc, son of champion coach and golfer Tommy, is the new Ilocos Norte governor. Both ran unopposed.

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

Also winning seats in their respective city councils were 1992 PBA MVP Ato Agustin (San Fernando, Pampanga), SWU coach Yayoy Alcoseba and former PBA players Dondon Hontiveros (Cebu City, second district), Yoyong Martirez (Pasig, second district), Paul Artadi (San Juan, first district), Jam Alfad (Jolo, Sulu), Adamson coach Franz Pumaren (Quezon City, third district), Soaring Falcons deputy Jack Santiago (Navotas first district), former Ginebra player Mark Macapagal (San Simon, Pampanga) MPBL coach Elvis Tolentino (Marikina, second district), ex-Coca-Cola coach Binky Favis (Paranaque, second district), Perpetual Altas winger GJ Ylagan (Gumaca, Quezon), racer Tyson Sy (Valenzuela, second district), and UAAP executive director Rebo Saguisag (Makati, first district).

Continue reading below ↓

Meanwhile, the 1Pacman party is on track to win enough votes to keep GlobalPort owner Mikee Romero and Manny Pacquiao associate Eric Pineda in Congress while Pacman's close friend and trainer, Buboy Fernandez, currently leads in the vice mayoralty race in his native Polangui, Albay.

Unfortunately, not all sportsmen came away victorious.

Gilas Pilipinas head coach and concurrent NLEX bench tactician Yeng Guiao lost to incumbent Rep. Jon Lazatin in the battle for the congressional seat in Pampanga's first district.

Taekwondo chief Monsour del Rosario lost to incumbent vice mayor Monique Lagdameo in Makati, while former Ginebra player Peter Aguilar (father of Japeth) also lost his vice mayoralty bid in Sasmuan, Pampanga.


    Ali Atienza, a gold medalist in the 1994 Asian Taekwondo Championship, also failed to win in the congressional race in Manila's fifth district, losing to Amanda Bagatsing.

    Blackwater alternate governor Ariel Vanguardia (Laguna, second district), and former PBA players JV Yango (Nueva Ecija, first district), Chris Baluyot and Bobby Jose (Bulacan, first district) all lost their bids to be members of their respective provincial boards.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Don Allado (San Juan, second district), former Ateneo volleyball player Ish Polvorosa (Imus, Cavite), and referee Nestor Sambrano (Bocaue, Bulacan) all failed to secure seats in their own city councils.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result