Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sun, Dec 8

    Mangsat sets new PH record in steeplechase

    May 28, 2013

    JESSA Mangsat of Baguio City broke the Philippine record in ruling the women’s 3,000m steeplechase of the Philippine National Games athletic competitions at the Philsports complex in Pasig City.

    Mangsat clocked 11 minutes, 25.70 seconds in the long distance event to surpass the national record of 11:28.54 set by Jean Palencia while competing for University of Santo Tomas in the 2009 UAAP event.

    Far Eastern University’s Jennismyll Mabunga placed second with a time of 11:43.15, followed by Flordeliza Donos of Baguio City at 11:56.90.

    Meanwhile, national team member Katherine Kay Santos breezed through the women’s long jump gold with a leap of 5.66 meters as the 2011 Southeast Asian Games bronze medalist bested Felyn Doloso of Run For Change (5.42 meters), and Joy Albino of UST (5.30).

    Christopher Ulboc of Run For Change topped the men’s 3,000m steeplechase as he leaped 9:05.65. Hernani Sore of Baguio (9:23.31) and Roldan Verano of Jose Rizal University (9:29.67) finished second and third, respectively.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Joan Rose Cambonga meanwhile, stunned the field by winning the gold in the women’s javelin with a throw of 58.48 meters, beating veterans Rosie Villarito (48.55) and Narcisa Atienza (41.40) of Rizal Technological University.

    In high jump, Far Eastern University’s Joeann Bermudo won the gold with a jump of 1.59 meters as Aileen Pengson of Bulacan State University settled for silver with 1.40 meters.

    Regan Contic of Baguio tabbed the discus throw gold in the juniors division, hoisting 42.72 meters in beating Aires Camporedondo of JRU (39.44) and Avery Cuyugan of Mapua (37.32), respectively.

    In cycling, Alfie Catalan, John Mier, Arnold Marcelo, and Nino Jazul won the team pursuit with a clocking of 4:56.25 at the Amoranto Velodrome. The quartet won by nearly 12 seconds over Jan Paul Morales, Leonel Dimaano, Jervin Torres, and Armel De Jesus.

    Loyd Lucien Reynante, Ronald Gorantes, and George Oconer meanwhile, nabbed the Olympic sprint event, while Joyce Del Socorro annexed the women’s individual time trial (46.18).

    Continue reading below ↓

    Janrick Soriano of UFL’s Kaya FC had four goals in National Capital Region’s 10-2 victory over Zamboanga in men’s futsal competitions at the Brent gym.

    In other results, Cavite FA defeated Subic, 7-4, and CLSU beat Cortexiphan FC, 5-2.

    Lady Futsalistas FC defeated Enderen Colleges, 5-2, with Renee Franchesca Fabros scoring three goals in the women’s side.

    Francisco “Django” Bustamante, Jeff De Luna, Jundel Mazon, and Carlo Biado on the other hand, have been eliminated in the men’s 9-ball tournament over at the Rizal Memorial Billiards Hall.

    Read Next
    Recommended Videos
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result