Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Jul 23

    Lascuña tops PGT Order of Merit for second straight season

    Dec 2, 2013

    TONY Lascuña retained the top spot in the ICTSI Philippine Golf Tour Order of Merit despite missing the circuit’s last four legs.

    Miguel Tabuena needed to finish at least third in the season-ending Wack Wack Championships to take the top spot. But the 19-year-old pro, winner of the opening leg at Sherwood Hills, finished 19th in the season ender, enabling Lascuna to clinch his second straight OOM crown with total winnings of P1,682,332.

    Lascuña, who built enough lead from two victories and four runner-up finishes in 10 events, didn’t see action in the Wack Wack Championship as he and Angelo Que represented the Philippines in the World Cup of Golf in Australia.

    Lascuna piled up enough earnings from his victories at Calatagan and Manila Southwoods and runner-up finishes at Orchard, Palos Verdes, Mt. Malarayat and Tagaytay Midlands.

    Tabuena, who lost to Jay Bayron in a playoff in the circuit’s second leg at John Hay, finished with P1,506,312.

    “It’s nice to win again despite missing a lot of tournaments owing to my campaign on the Asian Tour,” said Lascuna, whose wife Cheryl and daughter Shanryl received his award from ICTSI Public Relations head Narlene Soriano during the recent rites at Wack Wack.

    Elmer Salvador, former winner of the money title, wound up third with P1,152,776. Bayron, also a former OOM winner, came in fourth with P1,117,370, while Orchard leg champion Que ended up fifth with P1,036,276.

    Cassius Casas rallied toward the end of the season and won the Canlubang stop to finish sixth in the order with P895,718, followed by Midlands leg winner Carl Santos-Ocampo (P863,318), Riviera champion Mhark Fernando (P857,996), Jhonnel Ababa (P796,572) and Palos Verdes leg winner Michael Bibat (P664,629).

    Continue reading below ↓

    Lascuna was also voted by his peers as the Player’s Player of the Year and likewise took the Custom Clubmakers award as the Player of the Year, while Lloyd Go bagged the amateur of the year honors and the Manila Southwoods Golf and Country Club was named the host venue for the season.

    Meanwhile, a bigger, richer circuit is being lined up next year with the men’s tour to go alongside the ladies circuit also set to expand after its successful inaugural five-leg tour topped by Cyna Rodriguez.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result