Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Mar 2

    Teeners Zaragosa, Park set up title duel in Philippine Match Play Championship

    Apr 24, 2014
    Rupert Zaragosa closes in on another match play title after winning in 2011 and 2013.

    RUPERT Zaragosa, 16, and 14-year-old Korean Park Min-ung saw off two foes on Thursday to arrange a title clash in the Philippine Amateur Match Play championship presented by the MVP Sports Foundation at The Orchard’s Palmer layout in Dasmariñas, Cavite.

    The 16-year-old Zaragosa secured a spot in the final after bundling out Japan’s Gen Nagai, 2&1, before Park, the junior amateur titlist two years ago, ripped Korean Kim Tae-woo, 7&6.

    Daniela Uy and Filipino-Japanese Yuka Saso arranged a title clash in the women’s division.

    Uy took out Chanelle Avaricio, 4&2, while Saso, a member of the ICTSI golf squad, showed reigning junior am titlist Bianca Pagdanganan the door after a 4&3 victory.

    The pint-sized Zaragosa first won in 2011 at Canlubang against John Kier Abdon, now a pro, before nipping Nagai again last year.

    Park first manhandled the seasoned King Sethmeier, an Orchard member, 7&6, before returning in the afternoon to rip Kim, who had beaten former pro Eddie Bagtas, 2&1.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “It will be an interesting match because Park is so good,” Zaragosa said. “But I will just enjoy the chance to play for another national title again. Though it is match play, I will still be up against myself, basically.”

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Nagai, who has been based in Cebu for the last 13 years, won 1-up over Antonio Asistio in the quarterfinals.

    But the Japanese shotmaker fell behind early, 3-down after the first nine holes and won just one hole the entire match, the 14th with a birdie. Zaragosa wrapped it all up with a matching par on the 17th in the PLDT Group Amateur Tour event backed by Pancake House, Golf Depot and Pacsports.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Rupert Zaragosa closes in on another match play title after winning in 2011 and 2013.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result