Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Fri, Jul 20

    Zaragosa, De Claro post 11-shot win in National Doubles Golf Championship

    Dec 18, 2014

    RUPERT Zaragosa and JP De Claro fired identical five-over-par 77s in demanding conditions yesterday to win the National Doubles Championship at Eastridge Golf Club in Binangonan, Rizal.

    The 154 total for the day gave Zaragosa-De Claro a 302 aggregate for an 11-shot win over Luis Castro and GJ Katigbak, who had a 79 and 80, respectively, for 159.

    Castro and Katigbak settled for the Group I title.

    It was the first national team championship for the pint-sized Zaragosa and the first national title for De Claro as the organizing National Golf Association of the Philippines pulled the curtains down on its season schedule before holding the Philippine Amateurs next month.

    Ricar Candinato and Ariel Villasencio, Davao natives who are part of the Eastridge program, started the day two strokes down and came up with a 79 and 87, respectively, to finish three shots behind Castro and Katigbak.

    Jed Dy and Ryan Monsalve, the Group II champions last year, had an 87 and 83, respectively, for a 325 total.

    Paqo Barro and Aldo Barro combined for 186 to complete a come-from-behind win in Group II.

    The Barros won by 60 strokes over Yancy Siladan and Manny Abrogar, who shot a combined 215 after the leader after the first two days, Jing Romero and Martin Guiang, withdrew.

    Hwang Ming-jeong and Seung Eun-jeong completed a wire-to-wire triumph in the ladies division after shooting 76 and 71 for 147 and 293. That was 33 shots better than Koh Eun-ah and Song Min-jeong, who shot 88 and 81 for 169.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result