View Today
    Tue, Dec 11

    In-form Angelo Que rejoins Philippine Golf Tour at Mt. Malarayat

    Jul 18, 2017
    Former Philippine Open champion Angelo Que heads the 75-player starting field at Mt. Malarayat.

    ANGELO Que hopes to make the most of his break from the Japan PGA Tour, seeking a second Philippine Golf Tour crown in the ICTSI Classic teeing off on Wednesday at the Mt. Malarayat Golf and Country Club in Lipa, Batangas.

    Que posted back-to-back top five finishes in Japan last month although the long-hitter is coming off a three-week rest and downplayed talk of him being top favorite in the P2 million event.

    He won at the composite course back-to-back from 2008.

    “I can’t tell if I’m in top condition since I haven’t played since I got back (from Japan),” said Que, who also skipped the PGT’s The Duel 5 won by his team North over South in Baguio two weeks ago.

    “The last time I played Malarayat was when I won,” said Que, who is also eyeing a follow-up to his runaway victory at Anvaya Cove Invitational last February.

    Que will play the first round with Jay Bayron and Elmer Salvador.

    An early shootout looms with the big guns looking fresh and hungry from a month-long break, with Tony Lascuña, winner at Forest Hills last month, grouped with Frankie Miñoza and Ferdie Aunzo.

    Defending champion Clyde Mondilla, winner at Southwoods and Villamor, had been grouped with Jhonnel Ababa and Keanu Jahns.

    Also seeing action in the 72-hole event organized by Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc. offering P360,000 to the winner are rookie pro Ira Alido, Justin Quiban, Art Arbole, Edward Reyes, John Kier Abdon and James Ryan Lam.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Others tipped to contend are Calatagan leg winner Zanieboy Gialon, Jerson Balasabas, Rufino Bayron, Michael Bibat, Marvin Dumandan, Mhark Fernando and Orlan Sumcad while Australian Nathan Park, Peter Stojanovski of Macedonia and Manila-based Dutchman Guido Van der Valk in the event backed by Custom Clubmakers, BDO, Meralco, Sharp, KZG, PLDT, Champion, Summit Mineral Water and K&G Golf.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
    Sorry, no results found for
    Former Philippine Open champion Angelo Que heads the 75-player starting field at Mt. Malarayat.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result