Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, Aug 5

    Eyes on Rupert Zaragosa as Philippine Amateur Open Match Play begins at Orchard

    Apr 24, 2016
    Winner of a match play event in Cebu earlier this month, Rupert Zaragosa looks to score another title.

    RUPERT Zaragosa heads the cast in the 2016 Philippine Amateur Open Match Play Golf Championship teeing off on Monday at the Orchard Golf and Country Club in Dasmariñas, Cavite.

    Zaragosa is coming off a big win in the special 18-and-above class of the Philippine Junior Amateur Open Golf Championship two weeks ago, posting a 14-stroke romp over Airon Sorino at Sherwood Hills Golf Club.

    Tom Kim ruled the main event in come-from-behind fashion, winning by two over Ryan Monsalve and will head to this week’s event confident.

    Japan’s Yuto Katsuragawa, who won back-to-back low amateur honors in the Asian Development Tour and Philippine Golf Tour events at Manila Southwoods and Sherwood Hills the last two weeks, is also seeing action.

    Marc Ong nipped Aidric Chan while Harmie Constantino defeated Sam Bruce to capture last year’s crown but the Singaporean backed out at the last minute while Constantino begged off to focus on school.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Zaragosa and Kim start the 36-hole stroke play eliminations with Don Petil and Ira Alido.

    The top 32 advance to the knockout phase starting Wednesday.

    The Manila Southwoods-based Katsuragawa tees off with Lanz Atienza Uy, Nico Sevilla and Paqo Barro.

    Monsalve starts with Gabriel Manotoc, Luigi Guerrero and Peter Po.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Also seeing action are Noel Langamin, Ace Stehmeier, Jolo Macalayo, Basti Lorenzo, Inigo Raymundo, Carlo Villaroman, Jelbert Gamolo, Ivan Monsalve and Jan Philip De Claro.

    Korea’s Hwang Min Jeong, winner of a ladies pro tournament last year, Jona Magcalayo, Kristine Torralba, Nikki Bruce, Sam Bruce, Eagle Ace Superal, Koh Euna and Yun Ji Jang head the women’s cast of the event sponsored by the MVP Sports Foundation, Smart, PLDT and Metro Pacific Investments Corp.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Winner of a match play event in Cebu earlier this month, Rupert Zaragosa looks to score another title.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result