Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Tue, Aug 21

    Philippine Amateur Match Play Championship gets going

    Oct 13, 2013
    National boys' and men's champion Rupert Zaragosa is the third seed.

    CLASSIFICATION round winner Park Ming-ung of Korea battles JP De Claro on Monday at the start of the NGAP’s Philippine Match Play championship presented by the MVP Sports Foundation at the North course of Canlubang Golf.

    Three days after completing a final round rally to beat Jung Tea-yang and Filipino Rupert Zaragosa, Park starts his quest for a second straight championship in the event being held as part of the PLDT Amateur Golf Tour.

    Jung battles No. 15 Don Petil of Aguinaldo in the opening round, while Zaragosa, who finished third, will be pitted against Lion City Cup member Raymart Tolentino.

    The organizing NGAP used the 14th Canlubang-Petron Am last week as its qualifier for the match play stages.

    Gen Nagai, the Cebu Country Club mainstay in the PAL Interclub, clashes with Orchard’s Justin Quiban, while former champion John Kier Abdon slugs it out with lefty Andres Saldana in the event also being backed by Pancake House, Golf Depot and Pacsports.

    Zaragosa, the reigning men’s and boys' national stroke play champion, had a stumbling finish on Friday and blew a three-stroke lead entering the final round of the Cangolf Open.

    Kristopher Arevalo, who won the 15-16 division of the Callaway Junior Worlds last month in San Diego, also gets going against junior standout Basti Lorenzo.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
    National boys' and men's champion Rupert Zaragosa is the third seed.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result