Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Sep 22

    Tabuena, Que, Pagunsan head Filipino charge in Asian Tour's Manila Southwoods stop

    Nov 19, 2014
    Miguel Tabuena hopes to go all the way to the top this time after a second place in Taipei. Jerome Ascano

    YOUNG star Miguel Tabuena and top veteran pros Angelo Que and Juvic Pagunsan head the Filipino shotmakers vying for honors in the Asian Tour’s US$1 million Resorts World Manila Masters presented by 918.com starting on Thursday at Manila Southwoods.

    Philippine Golf Tour top money earner Antonio Lascuna is also seeing action along with Elmer Saban, Anthony Fernando, Jerson Balasabas and Mhark Fernando.

    Que has won three tournaments on the Asian Tour, including the 2010 Selangor Masters, and is fifth in the 2014 Order of Merit.

    Angelo Que came close to winning and ending his title drought, but got beaten in a playoff with Scott Hend.

    [See Angelo Que settles for second place as Scott Hend wins playoff for Hong Kong Open title]

    Juvic Pagunsan, meanwhile, won the Pertamina Indonesia President Invitational in 2007 and took the Asian Tour Order of Merit trophy in 2011 despite failing to finish the season with a win.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “I am hoping for all Filipino players to do well. It’s a big week for us. I am hoping to do well too,” Tabuena told asiantour.com.

    “It’s tough to play on home soil because of all the pressure here but my game’s feeling good. I had a good result last week so I hope to repeat that again,” added Tabuena, who finished in joint 15th at the Chiangmai Golf Classic.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Tabuena lost to Thailand’s Prom Meesawat in a playoff for the Yeangder Tournament Players Championship in Taipei in September, but that helped lock his Asian Tour card for 2015.

    [See Miguel Tabuena falls just short in Asian Tour as Thai Prom Meesawat wins Taipei tournament in playoff]

    “I have already secured my card so I’m playing with less expectation. I was in a bit of struggle last year because I hadn’t kept my card at that time. Hopefully I can get my first victory soon. This is the richest tournament we have in the Philippines and it would mean a lot to win it,” added Tabuena.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Also in the field are Rey Pagunsan, Paul Echavez, Benjie Magada, Carl Santos-Ocampo, Rolando Marabe, Jhonnel Ababa, Mars Pucay, Clyde Mondilla, Cassius Casas and Elmer Salvador.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Miguel Tabuena hopes to go all the way to the top this time after a second place in Taipei. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result