Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sat, Jul 21

    Lascuña will be marked man at TCC Invitational

    Feb 1, 2013

    LOCAL golf tour’s No. 1 Tony Lascuña is bracing for a tough outing as he sets out as the marked man in a stellar field chasing fame and fortune in the P5-million The Country Club Invitational that gets going on February 7 at the TCC layout in Laguna.

    The 42-year-old ace Davaoeño shotmaker has been installed the early favorite to pocket the record P1.5 million top purse in the four-day championship owing to his form and confidence that netted him two big victories the last two months while running away with the Order of Merit crown of the ICTSI Philippine Golf Tour.

    Lascuña dominated the elite local field from start to finish to rule the ICTSI Wack Wack Invitational, the local circuit’s final leg last December, then came from behind to snatch the Sabah Masters title of the Asean PGA Tour in Malaysia early last month.

    But he has opted to downplay his chances in the upcoming top-level 72-hole event which features the top 36 players of last year’s ICTSI-PGT, saying “the field is strong and talent-laden.”

    “I’ve been training very hard during the offseason, trying to keep my form and stay in shape,” said Lascuña. “But since the event serves as the kick-off leg of the local circuit, we need to play well at TCC not so much for the prize but to gain confidence for the rest of another busy season.”

    “I’ve been hitting the ball well and confident with my game but it will still be an uphill battle. There are just too many talented players around,” said Lascuña.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Meanwhile, the traditional 18-hole pro-am event, featuring the leadings pros and ICTSI’s guests from various sectors, will be held on February 6.

    Other favorites are Juvic Pagunsan and Angelo Que, who are both gunning for a record fourth crown in the event, along with former champions Cassius Casas (2003), Jerome Delariarte (2005), and Artemio Murakami (2009).

    Also in the field are Zanie Boy Gialon, Miguel Tabuena, Jay Bayron, Elmer Saban, Clyde Mondilla, Charles Hong, Mhark Fernando, Rufino Bayron, Mars Pucay, Richard Sinfuego, Carl Santos-Ocampo, Jhonnel Ababa, Jun Bernis, Randy Garalde, Michael Bibat, Ferdie Aunzo, James Ryan Lam, Orlan Sumcad, Joenard Rates, Benjie Magada, Christopher delos Santos, Arnold Villavicencio, Rey Pagunsan, Anthony Fernando and Frankie Miñoza.

    Read Next
    read more stories about:
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result