Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sun, Nov 29

    Jobim Carlos eyes third title as PGT finale gets underway at Luisita

    Oct 15, 2018

    JOBIM Carlos tries to cap a sterling Philippine Golf Tour season with victory in the rich ICTSI Luisita Invitational against an elite international field also going all out to grab the spotlight at the Luisita Golf and Country Club in Tarlac.

    The P4 million PGT final leg gets underway onWednesday with Carlos grouped with veteran Jay Bayron and title-hungry Michael Bibat.

    With two victories and a couple of runner-up efforts in the PGT season about to end, Carlos has secured the Order of Merit crown as early as last month when he piled up earnings of P2,411,083 in nine legs. Running second is Korea’s Kim Joo Hyung with P1.36 million.

    At 25, Carlos is one of the youngest winners of the coveted individual crown, clinching it on this third year on the tour.

    But the next four days will be pretty tough for the former amateur hotshot with a slew of aces out to foil his drive for a third championship, including Jhonnel Ababa, winner of the last PGT leg in Cebu, and fellow leg winners Dutch Guido Van der Valk (Eagle Ridge), Jerson Balasabas (Phl Masters), American Nicolas Paez (Del Monte) and Justin Quiban (Bacolod).

    Continue reading below ↓

    Three-time Order of Merit topnotcher Tony Lascuña and last year’s money leader Clyde Mondilla are also seeing action in the 72-hole championship put up by ICTSI and organized by Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Ababa hopes to come out strong in the group with Erwin Arcillas and Rufino Bayron, while Van der Valk has been drawn to play with Australia’s Simon Vitakangas and Filipino amateur Jolo Magcalayo.

    Other foreign bets expected to contend in the event backed by Custom Clubmakers, Meralco, Champion, Summit Mineral Water, K&G Golf Apparel, BDO, Sharp, KZG, PLDT and M.Y. Shokai Technology, Inc. are Australia’s Tim Stewart and Nathan Park, Americans Andy Kang, Lexus Leoninh and Pete Vilairatana, Korea’s Park Jun Sung and Kang Chon Koo, Japan’s Taisei Mochita, Rio Mori and Hiroyuki Ono and Spain’s Salvador Paya Vila.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result