Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Dec 1

    Foreign bidders stand in way of Tabuena quest for PH Open repeat

    Mar 26, 2019

    THE Solaire Philippine Open kicks off on April 3 at The Country Club with records and a wild finish anticipated in Asia's oldest golf tournament.

    After etching his name on the record books as Centennial champion with a playoff victory over Thai ace Prom Meesawat last year, Miguel Tabuena shoots for one feat never done the last 60 years – become a repeat winner of Asia’s oldest National Open when the blue-ribbon event, sponsored by Solaire Resort & Casino for the third straight year, is held at the challenging Tom Weiskoph-designed layout.

    “We at Solaire are honored to stage last year’s Centennial Phl Open and we are again privileged to be at the helm as the fabled event begins its journey to a new century,” said Thomas Arasi, president and CEO of Solaire.

    Steve Lewton of England also nipped American Johannes Veerman in sudden death in the 2017 Open, also at TCC.

    Continue reading below ↓

    History also beckons for the rest of the bidders, including those from Thailand, Taiwan, Australia, England, Korea and the US, among others, in the $500,000 event backed by ICTSI and sanctioned by the National Golf Association of the Philippines.

    Tabuena, who also topped the rain-shortened Open at Luisita in 2015, is trying to become only the sixth player to win it three times. Outside of 12-time titlist Larry Montes, Celestino Tugot, who won six diadems, including four straight from 1955, and five-time winner JRH Mason, only two others have won it thrice – Lu Liang Huan of Taiwan and legend Ben Arda.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    A fired-up 11-player Thailand side is also going flat out for an Open record, seeking to nail the crown that has eluded the country’s perennial regional rivals for the longest time.

    Ten Australians, led by Philippine Golf Tour Asia leg winners Damien Jordan and David Gleeson, also set out to secure their 10th Open jewel while 11 players from the US, headed by regular local campaigners Sam Gillis, Lexus Keoninh, Brett Munson, Cory Oride and PGT leg titlist Nicholas Paez are all primed up for a shot at their 27th Open crown in the event sanctioned by the National Golf Association of the Philippines headed by president Martin Lorenzo.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Jobim Carlos, the reigning PGT Order of Merit champion, and Jhonnel Ababa, the winningest player on PGT Asia with three victories, also liked their chances in the upcoming Open.

    “The TCC is a tough course especially if the wind pick up. And it’s a great field,” said Carlos. “I just hope to play better.”

    “I’ve been playing well in PGT Asia events so I just hope to cash in on the streak and dish out my best,” said Ababa, who scored back-to-back wins at Eagle Ridge and Pradera Verde last year then repeated at the Lubao, Pampanga leg last January.

    There is also Juvic Pagunsan, Asia’s former No. 1, who is back to resume his hunt for one championship missing in his vast trophy cabinet.

    But the elite field will also have to contend with the dreaded TCC layout, whose length and wind factor put stern options on shotmaking and precision, and whose deceptive greens could make or break one’s title bid.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Other local top guns tipped to contend for the crown are former titlist Angelo Que and former OOM winners Clyde Mondilla and Tony Lascuña and veteran Jay Bayron.

    Korean-American Micah Shin, who became the first non-Filipino winner of the TCC Invitational when he foiled Tabuena also last year, is also expected to join the title hunt along with PGT and PGT Asia campaigners Kim Joo Hyung of Korea, Dutch Guido Van der Valk, Nicolas Paez of the US and Aussie Tim Stewart.

    Read Next
    read more stories about:
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result