Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sun, Dec 8

    Del Monte aces join hunt in ladies' local pro tour

    May 13, 2013

    KRISTINE Leonen and Apple Fudolin of Del Monte Golf Club in Bukidnon have signed up for the opening leg of the ICTSI Ladies Philippine Golf Tour teeing off on Wednesday at The Country Club in Laguna.

    Leonen and Fudolin, who see action in the Ladies Interclub and the Southern Ladies Open, will battle former teammate Eva Miñoza and three former Philippine Ladies Open winners, among others, in the event offering a top prize of P100,000.

    2005 Philippine Ladies Open champion Jayvie Agojo, three-time champion Mary Grace Estuesta and 2002 winner Heidi Chua head the cast in the 54-hole tournament offering a total pot of P500,000.

    Carmelette Villaroman, winner of the Philippine Ladies Open in 1995 and coach of the ICTSI ladies squad, was also set to see action but could not make it in time for the event.

    Chihiro Ikeda, also a former champion of the national tournament and SEA Games gold medalist, begged off from participating to honor a previous commitment to play in a qualifying event on the Japan Ladies Tour.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Others in the field are Sarah Ababa, Red Bareng, Lovelynn Guioguio, Anya Tanpinco, Sylvia Torres, Lucy Landicho, Lina de Guzman, Marjorie Pulumbarit, Jan Punzalan and Tracy Que, wife of three-time Asian Tour champion Angelo Que.

    Sisters Nikki and Sam Bruce, who topped the recent LPGT Qualifying event at Cangolf’s South course, lead the amateur cast in the event, along with ICTSI team mainstays Princess Superal, Pauline del Rosario, Sofia Chabon and former PLO champion Cyna Rodriguez, Miya Legaspi, Yuka Sasu, Daniella Uy, Annika Cedo, and Nicole Constantino.

    Five legs have been lined up by the organizing Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc. for the circuit’s maiden season, which hopes to expand and lure foreign competitors next year.

    Other venues being eyed as hosts are Wack Wack, Southwoods, Camp John Hay in Baguio and Canlubang with the Asian Ladies Team Championship, an annual event at John Hay, also expected to be included in the circuit later in the year.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    Recommended Videos
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result