View Today
    Thu, Dec 13

    Canlubang bags third straight Interclub seniors title

    Feb 24, 2013
    The Sugar Barons extend their domination of the seniors division of the Interclub tournament to three years.

    CANLUBANG came up with 148 points, its best output for the week, to beat Luisita on Sunday and claim its third straight PAL Interclub seniors’ golf title.

    Dave Hernandez and Rolly Viray scored 51 points each at the Alta Vista course in Cebu City as Canlubang finished with 568 points, six points ahead of Luisita.

    It was the Sugar Barons’ seventh win in eight years.

    Canlubang’s third score was 46 from either team captain Luigi Yulo or Philip Brodett.

    For the third straight year, Luisita had to settle for second place, fading in the last nine holes after managing to tie Canlubang at the turn.

    Minieng Maravilla led Luisita with 51 points, but Philippine Sports Commission chairman Richie Garcia struggled with 47 points, a score matched by Bong Sison.

    “If there’s a will, there’s a way,” said Yulo after foiling another Luisita charge.

    Luisita looked good on the front nine until Garcia went out of bounds off the tee in the ninth hole to make the turn at two-over par.

    It was downhill from there as Garcia dropped five more strokes in the last nine holes for 47 points, eight points less than his first round output.

    “I thought I hit a good five-iron tee shot. After that, I could no longer hit it cleanly,” said Garcia.

    Pueblo de Oro, which led in the first two rounds, settled for third place with 531 points following a 130.

    Scoring for Pueblo were Manuel Roa (46), Miguel Chiong (43) and Carlos Rubio (41).

    Continue reading below ↓

    Clifford Celdran of Pueblo edged Ramontito Garcia by one point to win the individual title in the event sponsored by the Department of Tourism, 105.1 Crossover, Solar Sports, Plantation Bay Resort and Spa, 92.3 FM Radyo 5, Araneta Coliseum and AXN. Major sponsors are Airbus, Manila Broadcasting Corporation, Philippine Broadcasting Network, People Asia, Radio Mindanao Network, Business Mirror and ABS-CBN The Filipino Channel. Corporate sponsors include Radisson Blu Hotel, Shangri-La Resort & Spa, Boeing, Inquirer Golf Magazine, Philippines Graphic and Manila Bulletin.

    The final scores:

    CHAMPIONSHIP– Canlubang 568, Luisita 562, Pueblo de Oro 531, YVR BC 444, Forest Hills 437, Victorias 429, Filcansa 426, T. Kingfisher 423, Fil-Am Fairfield 421, Cotabato 412, Bacolod 409, Brookside 406, Mabuhay Las 402, Austral Asian 393, Bay City 374, Greenhills West 361, Canphil 346, Club 1870 339, Melbourne Pinoy 307, 40 Love Darwin 285, Sandbaggers YVR 254, Viva Las Vegas 232.

    Read Next
    read more stories about:
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
    Sorry, no results found for
    The Sugar Barons extend their domination of the seniors division of the Interclub tournament to three years.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result