View Today
    Sat, Dec 15

    Abe Rosal nine strokes clear in Philippine Seniors Open at Mt. Malarayat

    Jul 6, 2017

    ABE Rosal fired a one-under 71 to move nine strokes ahead of overnight leader Dave Hernandez in the second round of the Philippine Seniors and Mid-Amateur Open Championships in Lipa, Batangas.

    Rosal, a former mainstay of the Canlubang team in the Interclub, birdied two of the first four holes and went to gun down two more against a bogey and a double-bogey at Mt. Malarayat’s composite course.

    Looking to claim his first Seniors Open crown, Rosal is at 145. Hernandez shot an 82 for a 154 total in second spot.

    Abe Avena, last year’s winner, fired an 80 for a 155, while former national champion Rolly Viray carded a 76 and moved to joint fourth at 158with Jose Mari Hechanova, who turned in a 78.

    Mike Besa made an 81 for sixth at 165 while Japanese Kato Sengyo had an 87 for a 168 followed by Ernesto Lim (85-174) and Albert Que (94-185) as Tommy Manotoc withdrew after a 75.

    Meanwhile, Mid Amateur Open division defending champion Gerald Katigbak fired a first-round 73 for a three-shot lead over Earel Gardiola with Augusto de Jesus carding a 77.

    Korea’s Shin Seo Yun pulled away in the women’s Elite Open, matching par 72 for a 147 and a four-stroke lead over compatriot Kwon Seo Yon and local bet Margiela Atienza, who both shot 75s for 151s.

    Kristine Torralba shot a second 77 for a 154.

    In other Mid-Am classes, Philip Lindog carded a 76 and grabbed a one-stroke lead over Jerome Hernandez (77) with Walter Lacuesta in third with an 81 in Division I.

    Boom Coscolluela made an 87 for a two-shot edge over John Marc Andaya (89) and Ferdinand Garana (89) in Division II.

    Continue reading below ↓

    In seniors play, Carlos Bathan shot an 81 for a one-stroke lead over Allan Alegre (82) while Jose Mandocdoc and Armando Lustre shared third place with 84s in Division I; Butch Bakunawa turned in a 79 for a one-shot margin over Philip del Carmen, who had an 82, with Lito Flores and Tsutomo Fujita made 83s for joint third in Division II; and Bong Sison, Katy Katigbak and Francis Bawal shared the lead with 81s in the PLDT Group National Amateur Golf Tour event backed by the MVP Sports Foundation, Cignal, Metro Pacific Investments, Srixon and Cobra, conducted by the National Golf Association of the Philippines and supported by hole-in-one sponsor Bushnell Prox2 Rangefinder.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result