Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Jul 16

    Ateneo Blue Eaglets star Mike Nieto takes lead in close race for UAAP juniors MVP award

    Dec 23, 2014

    ATENEO big man Mike Nieto is leading the way in the MVP race of the UAAP Season 77 juniors basketball tournament.

    Nieto topped the statistical race after the first round, accumulating 69.8571 statistical points (SPs) in seven games, according to the league’s official statistics provider Imperium Technology and Smart Bro.

    The performance of the burly Batang Gilas standout helped the Blue Eaglets finish the first round undefeated with a 7-0 win-loss slate.

    Like the seniors and women’s competition, statistical points are the lone basis for the juniors MVP award.

    Nieto, however, is not too far ahead in the statistical race. Aljun Melecio of De La Salle-Zobel and Mark Dyke of National University are breathing down the Blue Eaglet's neck with their 67.4286 SPs.

    Matt Nieto of Ateneo is in fourth with 62.5714 SPs followed by Joaquin Banzon of De La Salle-Zobel with 55.5714.

    Rounding out the top 10 are Jolo Mendoza of Ateneo (54), Christian Fajarito of Far Eastern University-Diliman (52.8571), Frederick Tungcab of Adamson (50.4286), Javi Gomez de Liano of University of the Philippines Integrated School (50.4286), and Paul Dagunan of University of the East (46.2857).

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result