Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Fri, Jul 20

    San Beda XI completes hat trick of titles 

    Feb 21, 2013

    RELENTLESS throughout, San Beda blanked Arellano, 2-0, to exact revenge on its Round of Four tormentor and sustain its dominance in the NCAA men’s football tournament on Thursday.

    The Red Lions claimed their third straight and 20th overall football crown at the Ascom pitch in Taguig City after conquering a Chiefs side that dealt the season’s only loss which also snapped their seven-game winning streak.

    Niel Dorimon and Miguel Caindec emerged as the goal scorers for the Lions, who moved a title away from tying former member La Salle with the most titles with 21.

    It was a double victory for San Beda after the Red Cubs won their first juniors title in a decade earlier this week with a 1-0 win over the Arellano Braves.

    After blowing their first eight attempts, the Lions were finally rewarded when Dorimon put them ahead with a late goal in the first half before Caindec sneaked another one five minutes before second-half stoppage time to put the outcome beyond doubt.

    “Iyon talaga ang plano namin, kailangang maging agresibo sa bola at kunin lahat,” said Lions assistant coach Eliezer Fabroada, who ably took over from head coach Aris Caslib, who was out due to a previous commitment. “We think to always gain and win the ball.”

    “Sinabi ko sa mga bata, kailangan patience lang dahil makukuha namin yung first goal kapag naglaro kami na may disiplina,” he added.

    Lions skipper Nhiboy Pedimonte was named the MVP, while teammate Ali Baldo took the Best Midfielder plum as the fellow seniors, as well as Jon Aaron Carlos, put a fitting end to their collegiate careers.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The Chiefs’ Alvin Obero emerged as the Best Scorer and Best Striker of the tournament with eight goals, but failed to live up to his stature in the most important game of the season for his team, which still put up its best finish since joining the league in 2009.

    Mark Baldo (Best Goalkeeper) and Kaiser Orcine (Best Defender) rounded out the individual awardees.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result