Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Jun 16

    PFF names 35-man pool for Suzuki Cup

    Oct 25, 2012

    THE Philippine Football Federation announced on Thursday the 35-man national pool from which the Azkals’ lineup for the Asean Football Federation Suzuki Cup in November will be selected.

    Standouts Dennis Cagara, Neil Etherdidge, Rob Gier, Chris Greatwich, Angel Guirado, Ray Jonsson, Jerry Lucena, Roland Muller, Paul Mulders, and Manny Ott, all of whom are based abroad, are among those named to bolster the squad.

    Also listed is prolific midfielder Stephan Schrock, although he has a meager chance of joining the team.

    They will link up with Manila-based Filipino-foreigners Marvin and Marwin Angeles, Misagh Bahadoran, Joshua Beloya, Jeff Christiaens, Jason de Jong, , Juani Guirado, Mark Hartmann, Carli de Murga, Lexton Moy, Demit Omphroy, OJ Porteria, Patrick Reichelt, Jason Sabio, Matt Uy, Denis Wolf, and brothers James and Phil Younghusband.

    Skipper Emelio Caligdong, Ian Araneta, Ref Cuaresma, Anto Gonzales, Nestorio Margarse Jr., and Ed Sacapaño are the homegrown players in the squad.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The PFF said the pool will be pruned to 22 players on Nov. 23, the day before the start of the tournament proper. The coaching staff, led by German Michael Weiss, will name the official 20-man roster the following day.

    The 15 players who were not selected will still have a chance to play if a member of the official roster would be unable to suit up due to an injury or a club schedule conflict.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    The Azkals face Singapore in a return friendly on Nov. 15 in Cebu in what will be their last tune-up game before gearing up for the Suzuki Cup, Southeast Asia’s premier football competition.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result