Arellano bags first-ever NCAA football title and puts an end to San Beda's five-year reign
Arellano comes up with a solid game in the title match. Jaime Campos

ARELLANO ended the reign of San Beda in NCAA men’s football with a 2-0 victory on Tuesday for the Season 91 crown at the Rizal Memorial Football Stadium.

Charles Gamutan scored in the 33rd minute and Jumbeng Guinabang in the 80th as the Chiefs captured their first-ever NCAA football crown.

Guinabang was named the Most Valuable Player and the Best Midfielder and Patrick Bernarte was adjudged as Best Defender as the Ravelo Saluria-coached Chiefs ended the Red Lions’ run of five championships.

Powerhouse San Beda won 13 of the last 14 seasons.

Ralph Abiol of San Beda captured the Golden Boot with 11 goals, while Michael Yuvienco claimed the Golden Glove.

Arellano won the first seven games to take the first round pennant but its bid for an outright title was foiled when San Beda took the second round and forced a championship game.


Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports