Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Jul 16

    Watanabe scores third win in as many races in Philippine Superbike Championship

    Jul 7, 2014

    DASHI Watanabe recorded his third victory in three races this season and Anthony Roman made it a 1-2 finish for Team Aprilia Philippines in the 2014 Pirelli Philippine Superbike Championship recently at the Clark International Speedway.

    Watanabe took the lead when polesitter Marvin Mangulabnan had to retire after just six of the scheduled 10 laps.

    Finishing 5.420 seconds behind was Roman, while another 6.127 seconds was Rainiel Resuello on a Ducati.

    Jussi Hoikka took the Intermediate Class win ahead of Rizaldy Canare and Vincent Mercado. Tracy Soyangco topped the Novice Class, seventh overall in the race.

    In the FDR Underbone King Championship, Herbert Lopez won the 150cc Open Class for Team NHK-Racewell, followed by John Emerson Inguito and Romer Corbe.

    Securing his third consecutive win in the 115cc Open Class was Vrei Ar Suba, while Aljon Valencia claimed first place in the 115cc Novice Class.

    In the FDR Scooter Racing Championship, Masato Fernando took first place in the 180cc Class, 1.961 seconds ahead of Paul Mark Doblada and James Barcial.

    Aljon Valencia won his second victory of the day by topping the 160cc Class, while Robert Espiritu secured the top spot in the 130cc Class.

    Clint James dominated Races One and Two of the Pirelli Motorad SBK Cup, with Jevis Aguila and Jay Carrion placing second and third, respectively, in both races.

    The winners in the Ducati Cup were Jussi Hoikka in the Open Class and John Defensor in the Master Class.

    The MotoIR race had to be red-flagged after just 11 laps due to rain, but with 75 percent of race distance completed, first place went to Herbert Lopez who had a 5.152 second lead over Paul Mark Doblada. Gio Adriano then took the class win for MotoIR 2.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Raseson Angeles won the MTRT Cup 115cc Scooter Class, Maiko Adapon topped the MTRT Club Race, Justinne Bethany Tolentino ruled the Honda Beat Cup, and McKinley Kyle Paz took the Honda Dash Cup in the event presented by Petronas and Resorts World Manila, sanctioned by the Underbone and Scooter Racing Association and the Superbikes Racing Association and sponsored by Pirelli, FDR Tires, and KYT Helmets.

    The Round Four is set August 2 and 3 at the Clark International Speedway.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result