Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Jul 23

    SEA Games medalists get early Christmas present as PSC releases P7.69 million in incentives

    Dec 23, 2013

    CHRISTMAS came two days earlier for all Filipino medalists in the just concluded 27th Southeast Asian Games after the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) formally gave them the corresponding incentives on Monday.

    Finally getting clearance from the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation (Pagcor), the government sports agency released the total amount of P7.695 million worth of incentives equivalent to the 29 gold, 34 silver, and 38 bronze medals won by the 210-strong Team Philippines in the biennial meet held in Myanmar.

    As per Republic Act 9064 otherwise known as the Incentives Act, gold medalists will receive P100,000, silver medalists P50,000, and bronze medalists P10,000.

    PSC chairman Richie Garcia was able to get the go-signal to release the incentives just before Christmas from Pagcor vice-president for community relations Henry Reyes who he was able to talk to on Monday morning.

    Reyes readily gave the approval despite the matter not being included in the last Pagcor board meeting on December 18.

    The next Pagcor board meeting is set on January yet.

    World 10-ball champion Rubilen Amit earned the biggest incentives among all Filipino medalists with P150,000 after winning the gold in the women’s 10-ball (P100,000) and silver in the 9-ball (P50,000).

    Although golfer Princess Superal and trackster Archand Christian Bagsit distinguished themselves as the only double gold medalists among the Filipino contingent, one of their gold medals came in the team event.

    Aside from topping the women’s individual event, Superal was also part of the trio that won the team event along with Clare Amelia Legaspi and Katrina Pelen-Briones, meaning the P100,000 incentive for winning the gold will be divided among the three, bringing Superal’s total take to P133,000.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Bagsit, meanwhile, will get P125,000 for winning the gold in the 400-m individual race and anchoring the 4x400 meter relay team along with Isidro Del Prado Jr., Julius Nierras, and Edgardo Alejan Jr.

    Garcia said there will be no formal ceremony to hand out the cash incentives to the winning athletes. Instead, all of them are going to be invited and honored during the PSC anniversary next month.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result