Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Thu, Sep 20

    Dutch official Martin Bruin returns as Ronda chief commissaire for the fourth straight year

    Feb 8, 2015

    DUTCH official Martin Bruin will be the Chief Commissaire of the Ronda Pilipinas for the fourth straight year.

    Bruin will be joined by Commissaire 2 Micky Rob, technical director Jamal Mahmoud of Malaysia and race officials Eduard Park of Korea and Ji Ji Qui of China for the race starting with the Visayas qualifying event firing off on Wednesday in Dumaguete.

    The 150-member Ronda staff and vehicles arrived in Dumaguete on Sunday and the riders are expected to arrive Monday and Tuesday.

    Ronda opens with a three-stage Visayas Qualifying Leg set Feb. 11-13 with around 100 riders expected to participate. The best 54, (50 elite and four juniors) will make it to the championship round slated Feb. 22-27 from Greenfield City in Sta. Rosa, Laguna to Baguio City.

    The Luzon qualifiers are set Feb. 16 in Tarlac and Fe. 17 in Antipolo City with 34 berths (30 elite, four juniors) are at stake.

    The 88 Visayas and Luzon qualifiers will join last year's winner Reimon Lapaza of Butuan, the nine-man national team spearheaded by Mark Galedo and a composite European team in the national leg.

    Visayas Stage One will start at the Negros Oriental Prov'l Capitol and end in Sipalay City Plaza (172.7 kilometers for elite, 120.2 kms for juniors); Stage Two will start at the Bacolod City Plaza and end at the Bacolod Government Center via Don Salvador Benedicto and San Carlos (158 kms for elite, 110.5 kms for juniors) on Feb. 12; and Stage Three starts at the Negros Occidental Provincial Capitol and ends in Cadiz City (123 kms for elite and juniors).

    Continue reading below ↓

    Registration forms are available online at Ronda Pilipinas' official Facebook page and Twitter account @rondapilipinas.

    Riders may register two hours before qualifying race day for P1,000 per entry per stage in the event presented by LBC, supported by Manny V. Pangilinan Sports Foundation, Petron and Mitsubishi, minor sponsors Cannondale, Standard Insurance, Tech1 Corp., Maynilad and NLEX and sanctioned by PhilCycling with TV5 and Sports Radio as media partners.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result