Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Wed, Aug 15

    Reynante wins seven-man sprint to rule Stage Four of Ronda

    Feb 4, 2014
    Lloyd Reynante (center) edges Jeroen Breewel (right) and Junrey Navarra in the race from San Pablo to Lucena.  

    LLOYD Lucien Reynante of Navy-Standard Insurance came out the winner in a seven-man sprint to rule Stage Four from San Pablo to Lucena on Tuesday in the Ronda Pilipinas International 2014.

    The 35-year-old Reynante crossed the finish line first followed by Dutch Global's Jeroen Breewel and PLDT-Maynilad's Junrey Navarra, who took the next two spots in the podium.

    PLDT-Maynilad’s Ronald Lomotos, Roadbike's Edgar Nieto, CCN's John Ebsen and Infinite-Singha's Peter Pouly finished just behind and were timed two hours, 43 minutes and 35 seconds for the 110-kilometer stage, same as the clockings of the podium finishers.

    It was a sweet win for Reynante, who last took stage honors in the Iloilo-Caticlan leg of the inaugural Ronda two years ago.

    "Para sa team ito," said Reynante.

    Cris Joven of 7-Eleven held on to the overall individual lead with a total time of 13:20.56, still just two seconds ahead of Reimon Lapaza of Cycleline-Butuan Mindanao (13:20.58).

    Santy Barnachea, the first Ronda champion, was one of the biggest movers, finishing eighth in the stage in 2:43.41 to move from eighth overall to fifth in the individual overall classification, over four minutes behind Joven.

    France’s Pouly remained at No. 3 but has shaved the deficit from one minute and 35 seconds to just 41 ticks.

    "Great job today, felt safe during all stage," said Pouly.

    Rounding out the top 10 were Cebu-Kalit Air Force's Oscar Rindole (13:24.16), Roadbike's Marcelo Felipe (13:24.40), Cycleline's Vicmar Vicente (13:24.48), Mark Galedo (13:24.49), Matrix Powertag of Japan's Daiki Yasuhara (13:25.34) and PLDT-Maynilad's Ronald Oranza (13:25.34).

    Continue reading below ↓

    Stage Five of the event presented by LBC, sponsored MVP Sports Foundation, Petron, NLEX, Maynilad, PLDT and Mitsubishi, Versa 2 Way Radio and Standard Insurance and minor sponsor Air Asia Zest, sanctioned by PhilCycling and backed by Shimano and Cannondale bikes, the Department of Tourism and Philippine National Police chief Allan Purisima is a 151.7-km race around Quezon Province passing Pagbilao, Atimonan, Plaridel, Gumaca, Unisan, Agdangan and back to Lucena.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
    Lloyd Reynante (center) edges Jeroen Breewel (right) and Junrey Navarra in the race from San Pablo to Lucena.  
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result