Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, Jan 21

    National cyclist Eleazar Barba tops elite division of Taokas Cup Asia in Toril, Davao

    Oct 16, 2016

    DAVAO CITY — National team rider Eleazar Barba Jr. topped the Taokas Cup Asia 2016 at the scenic mountain trails of Eden in Toril.

    Barba capitalized on the penalty on rival Jerich Farr of Team Prima Specialized to rule the premier Enduro Elite Men’s division with a total time of 10 minutes 21.77 seconds in the two-stage race.

    Farr, slapped with a two-minute penalty for a combined 11:50.98 clocking, settled for second place.

    Wendell Baba, another Taokas rider, timed 11:55.59 for third place.

    Jonathan Verga of V12 Radgear topped the Legends division in 13:02.83, while Lea Denise Belgira emerged winner in the women’s race with a time of 16:39.97.

    In the Cross Country Olympic race, Reimon and Cezar Lapaza finished 1-2 in the men’s elite division. Reimon clocked 38 minutes, 40.14 seconds while Cezar crossed the finish 2 minutes and 32.24 seconds behind.

    Veteran Eusebio Quinonez finished third, two minutes and 47.26 seconds behind.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Glen Yap topped the men’s masters race in 39:06.49, besting Daniel Tapao (41:40.80) and Joel Barba (42:42.91).

    In the men’s 20-29 age bracket, Michael Cosep of Octavio Sardines won in 32:26.56, Gritel Patadilla of Rambo CCC won the men’s 30-39 title in 35:06.00, while Mohd Faizkry Jumah of Taokas-Sabah Malaysia won the men’s 19 years old and below in 22:23.38.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    In the women’s side, Yu Chen of Taokas Taiwan topped the race in 36:16.04. The event, the biggest ever mountainbiking race in Davao City, attracted participants from China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore and Taiwan.

    Teams which took part in the two-day event were CATBA, Cottabato Off Road Enthusiasts, Sikad Davao, South Davao Mountain Riders, Taokas Taiwan, Team BKS, Patrol Muntain FJC, Team Taokas PH, AKS, Bikelab, Dirtbros, Team BER Bislig Enduro Riders, Bikelab/Pi Racing Gear, 1.10, Tio Baoti XTC Team, V12 Radgear, Team Rangers, GBC, Green Bikers Club Mountain Province, pmtb-taiwan, SDMR Toril Hardtails, Ladybug Enterprise/ biBu, Batanta Cycling Club Indonesia, Sabah Cycling/88 Bikers, Sabah Team Taokas, Sabah Cycling/Mile One, 8a Team Alkoholik, Padyak Cool, Siquijor MTBour/CTB, SF Trail Riders, Team Taokas Batangas/Padyakcool, Vtargo, Safety First, AKS/Sikad/SC Racing, Ultimate Trail Organization Gen. Sants City, Hanz Singapore, Team De Ads, B.E.E.R., AMBA, PLDT, Endless Foes Racing, Alfonso Bikers Club, Team Katsuri, Podium Multisports, Taokas Lasortech, Slambikes, Team Hagunuy, Team Rangerts, Hagunuy Zamboanga, SPARS, insik insde wakaboys, Attack Bike Shop-Groundzero Cycleline-EXO, Outbreak Adrenaline Wear, One Trail Enthusiasts, Privateer, Sto. Tomas Bikers, ESR Eat Speed Ride, TRF Tagum Free, Taokas Japan, Hard Chargers, Dirtbros/MFR/TCB, IMB/ICE?SBI, Lambayong Nataraki Bikers, Rakrakan Tabaco, and Team Kabado XIII. Sponsoring the event are Taokas bikes, Fusion Performance Suspension, Fifty-Fifty, SDG Components, Quai, Maxxis Tyres, HT Components, Monster Energy Drink, Patrol and Petron in partnership with South Davao Mountain Riders, and BONE.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    read more stories about:
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result