View Today
    Thu, Sep 19

    Big field seeing action in PhilCycling National Road Championships

    Jul 14, 2019

    REGISTRATION for the PhilCycling 2019 National Road Championships set July 23 for the Road Races and July 24 for the Time Trial events in Tagaytay City breached the 100-rider mark in the Men Elite and Under-23 and Men Junior categories.

    A total of 119 riders registered for the Men Elite and Under-23 Road Race (Massed Start) of the championships presented by Standard Insurance and Tagaytay City and supported by One LGC (Air21, Ube Media Inc. and IWMI), Go For Gold, MVP Sports Foundation, Bike-X Singapore and 7-Eleven Cliqq Air21 by Roadbike Philippines.

    In the Men Junior (17-18 years old) Road Race, 101 riders registered hoping to follow the tracks of their idols—including former Tour champions Mark John Lexer Galedo, El Joshua Carino, Ronald Oranza and Jan Paul Morales—all national riders who are staking their slots on the team to the 30th Southeast Asian Games the country is hosting in December.

    “The figures [registration] is proof that cycling is very much alive in the Philippines, thanks to our sport’s stakeholders,” PhilCycling president and Tagaytay City Rep. Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino said.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The Men Elite and Under-23 Individual Time Trial (ITT) lured 68 riders, all of whom are also competing in the Road Race, and the Men Junior attracted 43 aspirants in the race that is calendared in the International Cycling Union or UCI.

    The Women Elite Road Race drew 12 riders and all 12 are also vying in the ITT of the championships where 12 teams have registered for the Men Elite Team Time Trial.

    The Men Elite and Under-23 ITT will cover 18 kms and the Road Race 132.08 kms, the Women Elite and Men Junior ITT will be 12 km and the Road Race will be 91.35 kms, while the Men Elite TTT will be 40 km.

    The championships main hub will be at the Praying Hands (Tagaytay City International Convention Center) on Aguinaldo Highway. The Road Races and time trial events will pass through Batangas’s First District—Agoncillo, Balayan, Calaca, Laurel, Lemery, Lian, Nasugbu, Talisay and Tuy.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Read Next
    Recommended Videos
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result