View Today
    Mon, Dec 10

    Philippine chess officials want entry list revised as SEA Games competition starts

    Dec 11, 2013

    NAY PYI TAW – The Philippine woodpushers start their campaign in the 27th SEA Games Thursday with an air of uncertainty at the Zabuthiri Hotel.

    As of Wednesday afternoon Filipino officials are still appealing to organizers to revise the entry list they have previously submitted, starting with those in the men’s Asean chess events (individual rapid and individual standard) which kick off the meet in the morning.

    In the Philippines’ formal letter of appeal to Myanmar Chess Federation President and tournament Chief Arbiter Mg Mg Lwin, head coach Jayson Gonzales said Grandmasters Joey Antonio and Mark Paragua are entered in the rapid while GMs Eugene Torre and Darwin Laylo are seeing action in the standard.

    Antonio took over the slot first allotted GM Oliver Barbosa while taken out of the rapid was original lone entry GM John Paul Gomez

    It is not only in those two events that team officials have made changes.

    Individual blitz will now have Barbosa and Gomez instead of Paragua and Antonio while Torre, Laylo, Gomez and Antonio will compose the rapid team. Woman Fide Master Jan Jodilyn Fronda now joins Woman International Master Catherine Perena and WFM Janelle Frayna in women’s Asean chess team rapid.

    Laylo will also team up with Perena and Frayna with Barbosa in the transfer mixed team blitz.

    The letter of appeal was endorsed by Team Philippines Chef de Mission Jeff Tamayo when it was presented to him last Tuesday.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result