Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Fri, May 14

    NU's Ghicka Bernabe gets Coach of Year award at end of National Cheerleading Championship

    Mar 17, 2014
    NU Pep Squad's Nikki Calleja accepting her Cheerleader of the Year Award from the National Cheerleading Championship. Rhoel Fernandez

    SOME of the best dancers and cheerleaders in the country gathered for the 1st National Cheerleading Championship Awards Night at Teatrino's in Greenhills, San Juan last Friday night.

    The event marked the formal closing of the 9th NCC where a record 95 teams competed in the two-day event at The Arena at the Mall of Asia.

    NCC Director Paula Llana led other NCC officials in presenting the awards.

    The Coach of the Year in the High School Division went to Randell San Gregorio, whose teams from School of the Holy Spirit and Miriam College Sayawatha all finished in first place in their categories.

    “I will share this honor with my teams. If it weren’t for them I would not be here. They are the reason why we continue to always strive to improve the sport,” San Gregorio said.

    Ghicka Bernabe, who handles National University and School of St. Anthony, was named Coach of the Year in the College Division.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “I would like to thank the other coaches, sometimes we are called to become instant doctors, instant physical therapists, instant teacher, instant consultant, instant nurse - this is one big responsibility given to us but one important thing is the safety of everyone and I want to share this reward to all the coaches who are here,” she said.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    An unprecedented 45 cheerleading teams leapt, danced and cheered in the High School and College Coed Divisions that were eventually were won by Immaculate Conception Academy and Central Colleges of the Philippines, respectively.

    Nikki Calleja of National University was named Cheerleader of the Year.

    In an AVP shown prior to receiving her award, Calleja was shown talking to her teammates in the NU Pep Squad about the importance of not just acting but being cheerleaders, whether they win or lose a competition.

    Central Colleges of the Philippines Bobcats added several feathers to their Coed Cheerleading trophy with the Best Cheer Uniform trophy and Best Tumbler (male), courtesy of Winmar Agdon.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Naomi Soco of College of St. Benilde made full use of her gymnast training by bringing home Best Female Tumbler.

    Rachelle Madera of Perpetual Help was chosen as Best Flyer.

    The Best Dancer Awards (Male) were given to Juan Gabriel of De La Salle Greenhills (male) and Diego Villarosa while Bianca Agbayani of Miriam College Sayawatha won the same award in the female category.

    Best Costume in Dance went to Assumption College whose Metta Dance Theater members were adorned in a unique swan-inspired black and white motif.

    Best Choreography was awarded to the Colegio San Agustin, Makati City Dance Troupe.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    NU Pep Squad's Nikki Calleja accepting her Cheerleader of the Year Award from the National Cheerleading Championship. Rhoel Fernandez
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result