Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sun, Feb 28

    National pugs overpower rivals in PNG slugfest

    Jun 2, 2013

    JOSIE Gabuco, Rey Saludar, and Eumir Felix Marcial starred as national boxers stamped their class at the close of the Philippine National Games boxing competitions at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum.

    World champion Gabuco dominated the field and claimed the gold with a 21-4 victory over Jeanvee Flores, 21-4, in the women’s flyweight division.

    Saludar, gold medalist in the 2010 Asian Games, copped the elite men’s flyweight division gold when he stopped fellow national team bet Jerson Nietes, 21-17.

    Marcial also scored a huge win in the light welterweight final as the former youth champion beat Darwin Tindahan of Air Force, 28-10.

    Mario Fernandez defeated Quirino Mellejor, 15-6, in the bantamweight class, while Rogen Ladon won via default over Joerines Bernardo in the men’s pinweight division.

    Lightweight Junel Cantancio won via a referee-stopped-contest over Daffy Dempo in the first round to capture the gold, while Dennis Galvan updended Jay-ar Inson, 22-6, in the welterweight finals.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Rolando Tacuyan clinched the middleweight gold with a 14-8 victory over Jim Boy Vicera.

    In the distaff side, Maricris Igam won over Jungco Verosellen via retirement in the third round of their women’s light flyweight gold medal bout.

    Bantamweight Alice Kate Aparri defeated Nice Petecio, 15-6, and featherweight Nesty Petecio trounced Riza Pasuit, 31-5, to win the gold.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos
    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result