Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Mon, May 17

    Donnie Nietes heads list of top athletes to be feted at PSA Awards Night

    by the web
    Feb 25, 2018
    Donnie Nietes will be cited by the PSA for his exploits. Jhay Otamias

    REIGNING International Boxing Federation (IBF) flyweight champion Donnie Nietes leads a long list of individuals and entities to be cited during the SMC-PSA (Philippine Sportswriters Association) Awards Night this Tuesday at the Maynila Hall of the Manila Hotel.

    Nietes, who successfully retained his title against Juan Carlos Reveco of Argentina Sunday in Inglewood, California sits atop the list of 27 citations that will be handed out by the country’s oldest media organization in the formal affair presented by MILO and Cignal TV.

    Joining the long-time boxing champion are Grandmaster Joey Antonio, Asian Indoor and Martial Arts Games gold medal winners Margaret Ochoa and Annie Ramirez, and former ONE Championship lightweight title-holder Eduard Folayang.

    Also receiving citations are EJ Obiena, Carlos Yulo, Toni Leviste, Kareel Meer Caniezo Hongitan, Jan Paul Morales,Ivan Malig (bowling), Arnel Mandal, Divine Wally, Jomar Balangui, Pauline del Rosario, Bianca Pagdanganan, Elien Rose Perez, Veronica Ompod.

    Completing the list are Jacob Ang, Milo Rivera, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Centennial III, Cignal, Ceres Negros FC, Philippine softball team, Philippine women’s football team, and Shell National Youth Active Chess.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The citations are apart from the awards to be given to all gold medal winners in the 29th Southeast Asian Games and the 9th ASEAN Para Games in the yearly rite which has the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) as major sponsor and fully supported by the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), Mighty Sports, Globalport, Rain or Shine, and Smart.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    World champions Jerwin Ancajas, Krizziah Lyn Tabora, and Carlo Biado are the stars of the night out of the total 105 awardees as the trio will be the recipients of the PSA-Tapa King Athlete of the Year award from the country’s sportswriting community.

    Other notable honorees are the 2023 FIBA World Cup bid team led by Manny V. Pangilinan (President’s Award), Ramon S. Ang and Judes Echauz (Executives of the Year), Triathlon Association of the Philippines (NSA of the Year), Augusto ‘Gus’ Villanueva (Lifetime Achievement Award), June Mar Fajardo (Mighty Sports Mr. Basketball), Marc Espejo and Dawn Macandili (Mr and Miss Volleyball), Clyde Mondilla (Mr. Golf), and Terrence Romeo (Mr. Fan Favorite ‘Manok ng Bayan’ Award).

    Continue reading below ↓

    This year’s guest of honor and keynote speaker is Department of Agriculture Secretary Manny Pinol, a former sportswriter, columnist, and boxing analyst.

    Read Next
    read more stories about:
    Sorry, no results found for
    Donnie Nietes will be cited by the PSA for his exploits. Jhay Otamias
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result