Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Thu, Aug 16

    ASBC Asian Youth boxfest kicks off in Subic

    Mar 10, 2013

    SUBIC – A PLDT chopper owned by telecommunications tycoon Manny V. Pangilinan will fly Dr. Ching-Kuo Wu, president of the International Boxing Federation (AIBA), to this Zambales coastal town, site of the 2013 ASBC Asian Confederation Youth Boxing Championships, on his arrival in the country Monday.

    The AW-139, a medium-built, 8-seat, twin-engine multi-purpose helicopter will bear Wu to the Subic Bay Freeport in time for the 5 p.m. opening ceremony of the country boxing tournament featuring Asia’s best in the 17-18 years age category.

    Gracing the inaugural rites with Wu at Subic gym are Asian Boxing Confederation president Gofur Rakhimov of Uzbekistan and ASBC executive director Aziz Kozhambetov.

    Following the morning’s medical and general weigh-in at the Subic International Hotel, the official draw will commence at 10 a.m. The first set of preliminaries opens the curtains at 2 p.m. and the second batch at 7 p.m.

    Malaysia’s last-minute withdrawal marked Friday’s pre-competition schedule. Following suit were the delegations from Pakistan, Syria and Singapore.

    “It’s all systems go,” said ABAP president Ricky Vargas of the tournament backed by the MVP Sports Foundation, Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority, PLDT, Smart, NLEX, Maynilad, Clarktel, Subictel, Department of Tourism, Tourism Promotions Board, Videogear Inc., Exile Lights and Sound, Philippine Olympic Committee, and the Philippine Sports Commission, and supported by Sony Philippines, Coca-Cola Bottlers, and Nestle Philippines. "This is the culmination of ABAP's resolve to put together a regional tournament of this magnitude."

    The tournament runs from March 10-17 with the Philippines represented by James Palicte (60 kgs), Jade Bornea (49 kgs.), Ian Clark Bautista (52 kgs), Jonas Bacho (56 kgs), and Eumir Felix Marcial (64 kgs).

    Continue reading below ↓

    North Korea has 4 boxers entered, Turkmenistan has 7, Macau 2, Kyrgystan 9, Sri Lanka 5, Hong Kong 1, Japan 7, Indonesia 4, Uzbekistan 10, Iraq 7, Iran 10, Bangladesh 2, Chinese Taipei 4, Vietnam 4, Kazakhstan 10 with 10 reserves, Jordan 4, Mongolia 6, China 10, Tajikistan 2, Nepal 2, and India 10.


    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result