Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Jul 27

    Kenneth Chua, Alexis Sy take top honors as bowlers of the year in Team Prima awards

    Jan 9, 2017

    PHILIPPINE Bowling Federation (PBF) national team members Kenneth Chua and Alexis Sy were named the 2016 Prima Pasta Bowler of the Year winners during the Team Prima’s annual athletes recognition night recently at the V Corporate Centre in Makati City.

    Chua, 25, became the back-to-back winner of the male bowler of the year award after winning the same title last year. He was the unanimous choice after ruling various national competitions this year. This is Chua’s third male bowler of the year award since winning his first in 2013.

    He also topped the PBF National Open early this month and the SCTBA Open Masters tournament this year.

    Sy, on the other hand, also grabbed the spotlight by taking the female bowler of the year award. She won last year’s Tenpin Bowling Association of Makati’s (TBAM) third quarterly mixed ladies title last August and TBAM’s Annuals mixed ladies crown last December.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “Being awarded for Prima bowler of the year was like receiving a Christmas present,” said Sy. “It was very unexpected for me. This year has been tough for me, but I’m very glad that I was able to catch up and win the award. Above all, I thank the Lord for His blessings.”

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    “Achieving the award before the year ends inspire me to strive harder when 2017 starts. More tournaments for 2017, so it means we have to train harder,” she added.

    Bill Yambao and RJoy Daval Santos bagged this year’s junior male and female bowler of the year awards, respectively.

    Daphne Custodio copped the most improved female bowler of the year award and her brother Marc Custodio took the most improved male bowler of the year citation. Xyrra Cabusas captured the female bowler of the year Cebu and Aui Padawan took home the male of bowler of the year Cebu award.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The annual awards night also gave citations to those who scored a career perfect game in bowling this year. They were Ivan Malig, Richard Poblete, Paolo Valdez, Biboy Rivera, Kenzo Umali, Joseph Javellana, Aui Padawan, Ronald Arkoncel, Kenneth Chua and Ren Cremen.

    In badminton, Gregg Paz scored his back-to-back male player of the year award while Aires Montilla also secured her second straight female player of the year nod.

    Andrea Abalos won the female junior badminton player of the year and Pingkoy Salvado earned his second straight junior male badminton player of the year trophy.

    Other awardees were Cha Pagdilao (Photographer of the Year); Jake Rivera (Cyclist of the Year) and triathlete Wacky Baniqued (Multi-Sports Athlete of the Year).

    The annual awards night was organized by Team Prima chairman Alexander Lim.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result