Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Thu, Jul 19

    Bowler of the Year Rivera in seventh heaven

    Jan 3, 2013

    INSPIRED by young bowlers nationwide, Philippine team standout Biboy Rivera won a seventh straight Team Prima Bowler of the Year award during the Prima Annual Awards Night at Dasmarinas Village in Makati City.

    Rivera, the 2006 World Championship master gold winner, said he’s trying to be a role model for all of the junior bowlers in the country whom he encourages to compete at their very best, be it in local or international tournaments.

    “For the last seven years, it was very rewarding for me to win the Bowler of the Year award. I really wanted to be a role model for all youth bowlers,” said Rivera, 38, also a gold medalist in the 2010 Asian Games in Guangzhou.

    “I’m encouraging our youth to keep practicing because they are the ones next in line. They will represent our country soon in various tournaments,” said Rivera, a pioneer member of Team Prima founded by chairman Alexander Lim.

    Rachelle Leon, 22, copped her first Prima women’s Bowler of the Year award after winning the Philippine Olympic Committee-Philippine Sports Commission National Games Ladies Masters gold medal last May.

    “I never expected this award but I was hoping to win it,” said Leon, a graduate of BSBA management at the Polytechnic University of the Philippines.

    Prima’s cyling coach Frederick ‘Eboy’ Farr captured the Cyclist of the Year award for topping the qualifying round of the Asia Pacific Downhill Challenge this year. His son Jerich Farr won the same honor in 2011 for winning the Singapore Open.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “I’m hoping to be No. 1 again in 2013,” said Farr. “I’m really happy that I achieved my goal as a rider and brought pride to our country.”

    Meanwhile, badminton-playing siblings Sonny and Aires Montilla grabbed the men’s and women’s Prima Badminton Player of the year awards, respectively.

    Other awardees were Team Prima Junior Bowlers of the Year Kenneth Chua and Krizziah Tabora, who are both members of the Philippine national team. Most improved bowler went to Joshua Autida and Krizziah Tabora .

    Samantha Lagcao was awarded Cebu women’s Bowler of the Year, and Jeremiah Luke Bolongan received the men’s Cebu Bowler of the Year citation.

    Finally, the Photographer of the Year went to Jerry Lee, his second in a row.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result