Preseason success rarely translate into titles for UAAP, NCAA teams. See list
Ray Parks and the Bulldogs dominated the summer tournament but fell short in the UAAP, as did Roi Sumang's UE Warriors, while Jeron Teng, Arnold Van Opstal and the Archers could not complete a double in 2014. Jerome Ascano

IT is quite a huge accomplishment for La Salle to complete a sweep of the preseason tournament, but players and team officials are understandably not getting ahead of themselves.

After all, the numbers show victory in the summer league doesn’t make a team an instant title contender in the big dance.

La Salle and Ateneo both have completed the double before, winning in the preseason tournament and continuing the dominance in the UAAP.

But for most schools, preseason dominance doesn’t necessarily translate into success in their mother leagues.

Here are some teams that were hot in the training stints but went cold in the main event.

Far Eastern University

The Tamaraws captured the Filoil crown in 2009 with a team led by eventual Gilas 1.0 players Mark Barroca and JR Cawaling, and then-rookie RR Garcia. FEU placed second after the elimination round in the UAAP but fell to third seed UE, despite a twice-to-beat advantage in the Final Four.

San Beda

The Red Lions, with the troika of Ola Adeogun, Art de la Cruz, and Baser Amer along with the supporting cast of Ryusei Koga and Donald Tankoua, topped the 2015 preseason event, beating La Salle in the finals, only to fall to Letran in three games in the NCAA tournament that season.

La Salle

The Archers won the Filoil and UAAP crown in 2007 but failed to score a double after topping the 2014 preseason. That was a year after their successful conquest in the UAAP under then-rookie coach Juno Sauler. After topping the Filoil Cup, the Green Archers ended up as third seeds and bowed to FEU in the semifinals.


The Red Warriors won the Filoil Cup twice, but both times they couldn’t win the UAAP crown. The first one was in 2008 on a team led by Paul Lee and Elmer Espiritu where they lost to top-ranked Ateneo in the Final Four. Under Boycie Zamar and led  by Roi Sumang, the Red Warriors also captured the 2013 preseason crown but the squad couldn’t even make it to the Final Four of the UAAP that year.


The Ray Parks-led Bulldogs were the first team to go undefeated in the entire preseason, winning all 12 games in 2012. The Bulldogs, however, came up short in their title bid in the UAAP when they lost to University of Santo Tomas in the Final Four.  NU didn't win the UAAP crown until two years later.


Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports