Alyssa Valdez, Ian Lariba, Queeny Sabobo, Jessie Lacuna named UAAP co-Athletes of the Year
Volleyball superstar Alyssa Valdez is named UAAP co-Athletes of the Year along with Ian Larriba, Queeny Sabobo, and Jessie Lacuna. Jaime Campos

ALYSSA Valdez added another achievement in her collegiate career after being named one of four winners of the Athlete of the Year award for UAAP Season 78.

Valdez copped the Athlete of the Year in the team sports category which she shared with softball player Queeny Sabobo of multi-titled Adamson.

Rio De Janeiro Olympian table tennis player Ian Lariba of De La Salle and Ateneo swimmer Jessie Khing Lacuna also claimed the plum in the individual sports category for their achievements in the just concluded season.

It was the first time the UAAP named four winners for the Athlete of the Year plum.

Only Sabobo was present to personally receive the award during the UAAP's closing ceremony held at the Bahay ng Alumni inside the University of the Philippines campus.

Meanwhile, trackster John Loyd Osorio of University of the East won the Athlete of the Year in the juniors division.

Outgoing UAAP president Michael Tan also handed the league's flag in a ceremonial turnover of hosting chores to University of Santo Tomas athletic director Fr. Ermito de Sagun, who will be the incoming president for Season 79.

The league handed awards to Most Valuable Players, Rookies of the Year of the entire season as well as the league's athletes who gained achievements in the international front.

Athletes who excelled academically were also honored on Saturday night.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports