Eight schools battle for women's crown, seven teams clash for men's title in first UAAP 3x3
The UAAP has added 3x3 to its calendar and FEU athletic director Mark Molina, UAAP basketball commissioner Rebo Saguisag, 3x3 tournament director Pong Ducanes and ABS-CBN S+A’s Vince Rodriguez confident of a successful first run. Jerome Ascano

EIGHT women’s teams and seven in the men’s side battle for the titles in first staging of the UAAP 3x3 basketball tournament set on March 4 at SM Mall of Asia Music Hall.

Leading the cast is University of the Philippines player Juan Gomez De Liano, who saw action for the Philippine national team last year in the Fiba 3x3 Under-18 World Cup. Gomez De Liano will team up with brother Javi, Jun Manzo and Gelo Vito.

UP will battle six other schools for the men’s title, with University of Sto. Tomas not fielding a team.

La Salle will have former Rookie of the Year awardees Aljun Melecio and Andrei Caracut, Justine Baltazar and Santi Santillan.

Alvin Pasaol, who scored a league record 49 points for University of the East in the UAAP basketball tournament last season, will play in the 3x3 with Philip Manalang, Mark Maloles and Jason Varilla.

In women’s play, National University will have UAAP MVPs Jack Danielle Animam and Afril Bernardino teaming up with Annick Fabienne Edimo Tiky and Ria Joy Nabalan.

Pong Ducanes is the tournament director.

“The schools were all behind it. Of course, some schools will not field Team A players. That’s the coaches’ decision. But as far as the board of managing directors are concerned, all the representatives were behind this event,” said Mark Molina, athletic director of UAAP Season 80 host school Far Eastern University.

UAAP executive director Rebo Saguisag commended FEU’s move to make innovations as promised by league president Anton Montinola.

“FEU has the tendency to take bold steps. This is the first time we will be holding a 3x3 event... For that, we thank them for making this bold step,” said Saguisag.

“We are getting back to our roots. Tatluhan naman tayo nagsimulang lahat,” said Saguisag.


Here are the line-ups:


Adamson: Brendan Matthew Espeleta, Jasper Jude Longalong, June Rey Buenaventura, Lenda Demercia Douanga.

Ateneo: Rodney Manuel, Dan Wong, Gabe Natividad, Quintin Banzon

DLSU: Andrei Caracut, Aljun Melecio, Justine Baltazar, Santi Santillan

FEU: Michael John Casino, Wendell Comboy, Richard Escoto, Kenneth Tuffin

NU: JP Cauilan, Marc Diputado, Theo Joshua Flores, Anthony Sistoza

UE: Philip Manalang, Mark Maloles, Alvin Pasaol, Jason Varilla

UP: Jun Manzo, Juan Gomez De Liano, Javi Gomez De Liano, Gelo Vito



Adamson: Jonalyn Lacson, Jamie Grace Alcoy, April Cabug, Nathalia Prado

Ateneo: Katrina Guytinco, Johanne Nimes, Nicole Cancio, Jhazmine Jason

DLSU: Vea Malarde, Lauryn Del Campo, Angel Figueroa, Marga Jimenez

FEU: Claire Castro, Princess Soraya Jumuad, Valerie Mae Mamaril, Fatima Quiapo

NU: Jack Danielle Animam, Afril Bernardino, Annick Fabienne Edimo Tiky, Ria Joy Nabalan

UE: Christine Cortizano, Joyce Francisco, Princess Pedregosa, Anna Requiron

UP: Lourdes Ordoveza, Justine Domingo, Christine Iriss Isip, Gene Amar

UST: Angelica Anies, Jhenn Angeles, Karla Manuel, Maria Sangalang


Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports