Red-hot Ateneo star Kiefer Ravena posts wide margin in UAAP's MVP race. See the Top 10
Making up the Top 5 in the MVP race at the end of the first round of the eliminations are, from left, Ateneo's Chris Newcome, Jeron Teng of La Salle, Kiefer Ravena of Ateneo, Karim Abdul of UST and Mark Belo of FEU. Jaime Campos

KIEFER Ravena is on pace to win his first Most Valuable Player award in the UAAP.

The Ateneo star leads the MVP race at the end of the first round of the eliminations after accumulating 80 statistical points (SPs), according to a report by the league’s statistics provider Imperium Technology and Smart Bro.

Ravena has built up a huge lead after a seven-game stretch that has seen him score a career-high 38 points against University of the East on Sunday. By doing so, he topped his previous high of 29 points which he scored against La Salle on July 20.

The Blue Eagles are a league best 6-1 going to the second round of the elims thanks to Ravena, who was beaten for the MVP award by former National University star Bobby Ray Parks in 2011 and 2012 and by former FEU gunner Terrence Romeo last season.

Ravena also didn't win an MVP award in high school, although he won three championships with the Blue Eaglets.

Unlike in the PBA where votes from the media, players, and officials come into play in the MVO race, statistical points are the only basis for individual awards in the men’s, women’s and juniors’ basketball tournament of the UAAP.

Jeron Teng of La Salle is a far second with 61.7143 SPs followed by Chris Newsome of Ateneo (60.4286 SPs), who is the second of three Ateneo players in the Top 10.

Mark Belo of Far Eastern University is in fourth spot with 57.7143 SPs while Karim Abdul of University of Santo Tomas is in fifth with 56.1667 SPs.

Alfred Aroga of National University (55.4286), Mike Tolomia of FEU (55.1426) are the sixth and seventh placers so far while rookie Arvin Tolentino of Ateneo is eighth (53.4286).

Troy Rosario of NU (53.2857) and a second Green Archer, Jason Perkins, (50) round out the top 10.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports