Timely tonic for La Salle as Andrei Caracut beats Lee in close race for Rookie of Year award
Former San Beda high school star Andrei Caracut averaged 9.2 points, 2.8 rebounds, and 2.1 assists in his rookie year with the Green Archers. Jaime Campos

ANDREI Caracut of De La Salle won the Rookie of the Year award in a very close race where he beat Marvin Lee of University of Santo Tomas at the end of the UAAP Season 78 eliminations.

Caracut amassed 31.6667 total statistical points (SPs) to win by mere percentage points over Lee, who had 31.4286 SPs in the official report of the league’s statistics provider Imperium Technology.

Statistics is the lone basis for determining individual awards including the race for Rookie of the Year, which is limited to players coming out of high school.

In the MVP race won by Ateneo's Kiefer Ravena, Caracut was 29th while Lee was 30th.

Caracut, who came out of San Beda High School, won the award despite missing a few games due to an illness and struggled to find his form upon his return.

He averaged 9.2 points, 2.8 rebounds, and 2.1 assists for the Green Archers.

Lee missed out on being the third UST awardee for Season 78 after Kevin Ferrer and Ed Daquioag won places in the league's Mythical Five.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports