Bullpups guard Abadiano bags MVP as NCR rips Davao to win back-to-back Palaro basketball gold
NCR won the Palaro basketball championship for the second straight year. Reuben Terrado 

SAN JUAN, Ilocos Sur - National Capital Region (NCR) captured the 2018 Palarong Pambansa secondary boys basketball tournament title with a 100-80 win over Davao Region on Saturday morning at the San Juan Covered Court.

Gerry Abadiano had 24 points and was named MVP of the tournament after a lopsided win by the Big City cagers.

With the win, NCR captured its second straight secondary basketball boys title. With NCR represented by National University, the Bullpups also won their second title on a national stage after winning the NBTC crown last month.

Abadiano was also joined in the Mythical Five by Batang Gilas cager Terrence Fortea and Gilas pool member Carl Tamayo.

Fortea finished with 28 points for NCR, including five points to start a 13-0 run in the second quarter. Another 13-0 blast by NCR allowed the squad to grab a 61-29 lead. NCR led 68-35 at halftime.

NCR only held a two-point lead, 20-18, in the first quarter when they pulled away to end the period, 33-24.

Aljay Alloso had 22 points, while Vince Cuajao added 17 points on his way to also winning the Mythical Five award.

Justin Sanchez of Calabarzon also joined the Mythical Five.


The scores:

NCR 100 - Fortea 28, Abadiano 24, Tamayo 14, Gonzales 10, Oczon 8, Guarino 6, Mailim 4, Lantaya 4, Torres 2, Felicilda 0, Songcuya 0, Buensalida 0.

DAVRAA 80 - Alloso 22, Cuajao 17, Angeles 11, Manlimos 10, Perdido 8, Laput 6, Senarillos 2, Allong 2, Reyes 2, Magallon 0.

Quarterscores: 33-24; 68-35; 83-55; 100-80.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports