Aroga, Anthony Semerad get scribes' nod as season's Pivotal Players
NCAA Finals MVP Anthony Semerad will be honored with the Pivotal Player of the season along with Alfred Aroga in the coming Collegiate Basketball Awards.

ANTHONY Semerad and Alfred Aroga, both of whom played key roles in their respective teams’ title run, will be feted by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps and SMART in the coming 2014 Collegiate Basketball Awards on December 4 at the Saisaki-Kamayan Edsa.

Semerad of San Beda and Aroga of National University, were adjudged as this year’s Pivotal Players, the honor given by collegiate basketball scribes to cagers who helped their teams reach the ultimate goal of winning the championship.

Semerad had an NCAA finals series to remember against Arellano when he pumped in a game-high 30 points to lift the Red Lions to their fifth straight title in his last game in college before heading to the PBA and play for Globalport.

Aroga, on the other hand, dominated the UAAP titular series, including a 24-point, 18-rebound effort in the deciding Game Three to help National University end its 60-year title drought by beating Far Eastern University.

Meanwhile, Glenn Khobuntin of NU, Almond Vosotros of De La Salle, and Kyle Pascual of San Beda will also be honored with the Super Senior trophy in the recognition dinner supported by Smart Sports, Accel 3XVI, and Kohl Industries (Doctor J alcohol, Bactigel hand sanitizer, and Mighty Mom dishwashing liquid).

Khobuntin, Vosotros, and Pascual will receive the award for their overall performance while completing their college eligibility with their respective teams.

Eric Altamirano of NU and Boyet Fernandez of San Beda will be receiving their Coach of the Year plums during the simple awards night along with Collegiate Mythical Team members Kiefer Ravena of Ateneo, Earl Scottie Thompson of Perpetual Help, Mac Belo of Far Eastern University, Ola Adeogun of San Beda, and Jeron Teng of De La Salle.

The annual event, also backed by San Miguel Corporation, UAAP Season 77 host University of the East, NCAA Season 90 host Jose Rizal University, Gatorade and the Philippine Sportswriters Association, cites the outstanding performers in the country’s top two varsity leagues.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph