Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Jul 5

    Improbable but true: Lipa confirms Amer winner did beat clock

    Jul 14, 2012

    NCAA commissioner Joe Lipa on Saturday confirmed that Baser Amer’s unbelievable buzzer-beating shot from the backcourt in San Beda's overtime loss to University of Perpetual Help last Thursday indeed beat the clock.

    A question arose on whether or not Amer's shot should have been counted after replays showed he took one dribble and two strides before making the desperation 65-foot shot that forced overtime -- all inside the final .9 of a second of regulation play.

    But after a review of the play, an inspection of the game clock at The Arena in San Juan and a talk with the official timekeeper, Lipa said the referees and table officials were right in counting the shot, which will go down as one of the most memorable in the history of college basketball.

    “Swak talaga,” said the former national coach.

    Lipa and his supervisor of referees, Romy Guevarra, had aired doubts over the shot in the game's aftermath, saying the basket may have been aided by a malfunctioning game clock or an error by the timekeeper who may have belatedly pressed the button to start the clock.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Now the result of the review officially puts Amer's shot in the list of spectacular shots in league annals.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    For the video of the spectacular play, please go to the multimedia section. Perpetual Help won the game in overtime, 88-87.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result