Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Mon, Jun 1

    San Beda one win away from PCCL title as Red Lions rally past La Salle Green Archers in Game One

    Nov 27, 2014
    Ola Adeogun scores nine of his 20 points in the final period to power the San Beda rally. Jerome Ascano

    OLA Adeogun led a fourth-quarter run to power San Beda to an 88-81 victory over reigning champion La Salle on Thursday in Game One of the Philippine Collegiate Champions League at the Ynares Sports Arena.

    Adeogun scored nine of his 20 points in the final quarter, including six in an 8-0 run as the Red Lions moved within a win of the PCCL title. La Salle was down, 78-79, before Adeogun sparked the San Beda run.

    San Beda is looking to become only the second NCAA team since the 2011 San Sebastian Stags to capture the PCCL title.

    “One down, one to go. Kaya lang, it’s not yet over. Sinabi ko lang sa kanila, ’yung pride lang nila na we are the five-peat champion, kaya nilang talunin ang La Salle,” said San Beda acting coach Adonis Tierra.

    San Beda tries to complete a sweep of the best-of-three series on Monday at the Ynares Sports Arena. Game Three, if necessary, is on Tuesday at the same venue.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The Red Lions spoiled Ben Mbala’s huge game, the Cameroonian import registering 26 points and 14 rebounds for the Green Archers. Mbala also led an 8-0 La Salle run that included a left-handed dunk to pull to within one point, 73-72.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Baser Amer had 19 points, while ex-La Salle cager Dan Sara added 15 points for the Red Lions.

    Kib Montalbo had 13 points, while Prince Rivero and Abu Tratter had 12 and 10 points, respectively.

    The scores:

    San Beda (88) – Adeogun 20, Amer 19, Sara 15, Dela Cruz 14, Mendoza 8, Sorela 6, Soberano 3, Koga 2, Tankoua 1, Mocon 0, Tongco 0.

    DLSU (81) – Mbala 26, Montalbo 13, Rivero 12, Tratter 10, Teng 9, Torres 8, Salem 3, Bolick 0, Mustre 0.

    Quarterscores: 23-18; 43-37; 61-59; 88-81.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Ola Adeogun scores nine of his 20 points in the final period to power the San Beda rally. Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result