Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Aug 16

    La Salle's Ben Mbala wins statistical race by a wide margin to win UAAP MVP award

    Nov 18, 2016
    La Salle big man Ben Mbala is the league's MVP. Jaime Campos

    BEN Mbala, as expected, won the MVP award of the UAAP Season 79 seniors basketball tournament.

    The dominant La Salle slotman compiled 92.4286 statistical points based on the report by the league's statistics provider Imperium Technology to easily run away with the league's highest individual honor.

    Papi Sarr of Adamson was a far second in the MVP race with 69.8751 SPs.

    The collegiate league only uses statistics to determine the winner of the MVP award.

    Mbala was simply the best among the rest in the UAAP, topping the league in scoring, rebounding, and blocks with averages of 20.6 points, 16.0 rebounds, and 2.4 blocks.

    He became the first foreign player since Far Eastern University's Anthony Williams to be named league MVP.

    Jeron Teng of La Salle finished in third place in the statistical race with a 57.3333 SPs followed by Paul Desiderio of University of the Philippines at fourth place with 55.1429 SPs. Raymar Jose of Far Eastern University placed fifth with 53.6429 SPs.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Even though Mbala, Sarr, Teng, Desiderio, and Jose finished in the top five in the statistical race, league host University of Santo Tomas will still have the final say on who wins the Mythical Five award.

    Watch Now

    It was a memorable first year in the league for Mbala, who had to take a two-year residency and was declared ineligible last year for playing in an unsanctioned league in 2014.

    With Mbala leading the charge, the Green Archers raced to a 13-1 win-loss record, including a string of 12 straight victories to become a big favorite to capture the UAAP crown.

    Read Next
    Watch Now
    Sorry, no results found for
    La Salle big man Ben Mbala is the league's MVP. Jaime Campos
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result