Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Tue, Oct 19

    Badolato says referees right in 'ballpen incident'

    Jun 30, 2013

    THE UAAP Commissioner’s Office maintained the referees made the right call when they allowed De La Salle to call a timeout when play was stopped in the fourth quarter on Saturday after a ballpen inexplicably found its way into the playing floor on the playing floor of the Mall of Asia Arena.

    Deputy commissioner Ato Badolato explained the referees did the right thing in the game which University of Santo Tomas won in overtime, 63-58, even if the timeout gave the Archers undue advantage since it allowed them to call a timeout to set up the game-tying basket late in regulation.

    “May nakitang ballpen sa court. Whether intentional or unintentional, hindi natin alam. Pero the moment the referees call an officials timeout, the game clock stops. So anyone can call a timeout,” said Badolato.

    Down by two points in the waning moments of regulation, the Green Archers were setting up for the game-tying play when a ballpen suddenly landed on the floor, forcing referees to call an officials timeout with 21 seconds to go.

    Continue reading below ↓

    With the stoppage, De La Salle took the opportunity to ask for a timeout which the referees granted to the consternation of UST mentor Pido Jarencio and his coaching staff.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    The timeout proved crucial as the Green Archers were able to execute a game-tying jumper by Jason Perkins that leveled the count at 51-all and sent the game into overtime.

    Badolato explained that it would have been different if the referees caught someone deliberately throwing an object into the floor to stop play. In such case a technical foul would've been called.

    “Tama ‘yun. Ang question lang is whether talagang sinadyang itapon. In that case, a technical foul will be called,” said Badolato.

    Last year’s commissioner of basketball tournament also said the referees didn’t see any reason to call a technical foul.

    Asked to comment on the timeout, Jarencio thinks the referee should have just kicked the ballpen out of the playing court instead so as not to disrupt the play.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “Dapat sinipa na lang, hindi dinampot para ma-stop. Kasi debris ‘yun,” Jarencio said. “Puwede pala ‘yun?”

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result