Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, May 6

    UST Tiger Cub Mark Nonoy jumps to top spot in NBTC UAAP 24

    Nov 24, 2018

    UST's Mark Nonoy posted the first triple-double in the high school ranks since Kai Sotto a year ago, earning the top spot Week 2 of the Chooks-to-Go UAAP 24.

    Nonoy scored 31 points in the Tiger Cubs' loss to the Ateneo Blue Eaglets before delivering 17 points, 16rebounds and 12 assists as UST beat UPIS for UST's first win in the UAAP 81 juniors basketball tournament.

    Kai Sotto had a triple double of 22 points, 16 rebounds and 11 blocks in Ateneo’s victory over NU in Game One of the finals a year ago.

    Sotto also had a powerful performance of his own with 27 points and 20 rebounds as Ateneo defeated Adamson for its second straight win. Making it even more impressive is he had to carry a heavier load in their first game without court general Forthsky Padrigao.

    That was more than enough to put Sotto as a close second in this week’s rankings.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Following them are RJ Abarrientos who shot FEU-Diliman to their first triumph, Carl Tamayo who made sure NU kept pace with Ateneo, and Bismarck Lina who backstopped Nonoy for UST.

    Rounding out the top 10 are Adamson’s Joem Sabandal, Ateneo’s Jed Diaz, NU’s Cyril Gonzales, UPIS’ Ralph Labao and Harold Alarcon, another Bullpup.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Lina was this week’s biggest riser, jumping from rank 22 into the top five.

    On the other hand, Geo Chiu of Ateneo and Henrie Subido of DLSZ suffered the steepest falls with the former dropping 17 spots to 24th and the latter dropping 10 spots to 15th.

    The complete Week 2 rankings:

    1. Mark Nonoy (UST) (4)
    2. Kai Sotto (ADMU) (1)
    3. RJ Abarrientos (FEU) (8)
    4. Carl Tamayo (NU) (2)
    5. Bismarck Lina (UST) (22)
    6. Joem Sabandal (AdU) (3)
    7. Jed Diaz (ADMU) (N/A)
    8. Cyril Gonzales (NU) (20)
    9. Ralph Labao (UPIS) (18)
    10. Harold Alarcon (NU) (N/A)
    11. Royce Alforque (FEU) (19)
    12. Jorick Bautista (FEU) (N/A)
    13. Joaquin Jaymalin (ADMU) (24)
    14. Gerry Abadiano (NU) (12)
    15. Henrie Subido (DLSZ) (5)
    16. Andrey Doria (AdU) (16)
    17. Jake Engbino (AdU) (N/A)
    18. Terrence Fortea (NU) (10)
    19. Jacob Estrera (UPIS) (N/A)
    20. RR Tolentino (FEU) (14)
    21. Lance Jomalesa (DLSZ) (11)
    22. Vince Dolendo (UST) (N/A)
    23. Nat Sevilla (DLSZ) (13)
    24. Geo Chiu (ADMU) (7)

    Continue reading below ↓

    This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

    After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result