Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Fri, Oct 30

    Kai Sotto stays atop of NBTC rankings as Nonoy moves up to No. 2

    Feb 5, 2019
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano

    KAI Sotto proved once again why he remains the top-ranked high school player in the country.

    The leading MVP candidate of the UAAP Season 81 Juniors tournament had another dominant outing as he posted 26 points and 20 rebounds in Ateneo's 88-59 win over archival De La Salle Zobel last Sunday. The victory gave the Blue Eaglets a 10-3 record to inch closer to a twice-to-beat advantage in the Final Four.

    After yet another herculean effort, Sotto garnered the top spot in the Chooks-to-Go/ NBTC UAAP 24 high school rankings for the third week in a row. The 16-year-old phenom has now earned the distinction as the number one player for the fifth time this season.

    As Sotto continues to be a force to be reckoned with, Mark Nonoy catapulted himself into the second spot after leading the UST Tiger Cubs to a stunning upset over semis-bound FEU Baby Tamaraws. Nonoy torched the defense for 24 points, 10 boards, and six assists in UST’s 86-83 victory.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Fellow Tiger Cub Bismarck Lina was right behind Nonoy with a 22-point, 18-rebound performance, barging his way to number four.

    Rounding up the top five are two players from the league-leading NU Bullpups after their 51-point rout of the UPIS Junior Maroons. Terrence Fortea returned from his one-game suspension with a vengeance, scoring 23 points, including six triples, to make his entry into number three. Teammate Gerry Abadiano is at fifth after pouring in 17 points in the Bulldogs’ 12th win of the season.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    The complete Week 10 rankings:

    1. Kai Sotto (ADMU) (1)
    2. Mark Nonoy (UST) (7)
    3. Terrence Fortea (NU) (15)
    4. Bismarck Lina (UST) (13)
    5. Gerry Abadiano (NU) (3)
    6. Joem Sabandal (AdU) (2)
    7. Forthsky Padrigao (ADMU) (4)
    8. Kevin Quiambao (NU) (12)
    9. RJ Abarrientos (FEU) (6)
    10. Carl Tamayo (NU) (5)
    11. Royce Alforque (FEU) (24)
    12. Geo Chiu (ADMU) (10)
    13. Xyrus Torres (FEU) (11)
    14. Ivan Cudiamat (DLSZ) (22)
    15. Ian Espinosa (ADMU) (14)
    16. Andrey Doria (AdU) (9)
    17. Didat Hanapi (AdU) (N/A)
    18. Jomar Amador (UST) (N/A)
    19. Steve Nash Enriquez (NU) (N/A)
    20. King Vergiere (UPIS) (23)
    21. Shane Dichoso (UE) (18)
    22. Liam Manabat (UST) (N/A)
    23. Adam Doria (AdU) (8)
    24. Jesse Sullano (UE) (N/A)

    Continue reading below ↓

    [This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the juniors calendar for the whole year.

    After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.]

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result