Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, Oct 22

    Adamson's Joem Sabandal tops NBTC UAAP 24 Week 6 rankings

    Dec 20, 2018

    WITHOUT a doubt, Adamson is not to be taken lightly in the UAAP Season 81 juniors basketball tournament.

    The only team to have downed NU so far, the Baby Falcons find themselves in a three-way tie for the second spot at the end of the first round of eliminations, with Joem Sabandal showing the way.

    As Adamson went 2-0 in the past week, with victories versus the Bullpups and DLSZ, the do-it-all playmaker averaged 12 points, 11 rebounds, three assists and a steal.

    That effort made it clear that it was Sabandal’s time to top the NBTC UAAP 24.

    Joining the graduating guard in the top five are two players from NU, the number one team in the tournament, in Terrence Fortea at second and Gerry Abadiano at fifth.

    The Bullpups went 1-1 in the past week, but their win was their biggest just yet, taking down defending champion Ateneo.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Then, Fortea was fiery as ever with 17 points, 5 rebounds, and 3 steals while Abadiano was cool and collected as always with 16 markers, five boards, two assists, and 1 pilfer.

    Rounding out the top five are FEU’s RJ Abarrientos and Ateneo’s Kai Sotto.

    At sixth stands Adamson's AP Manlapaz who normed 14.5 points, 9 rebounds, 3 blocks, 1.5 assists and 1.5 steals in their back-to-back wins, followed by Mark Nonoy of UST, Carl Tamayo of NU, Bryan Sajonia of FEU and Adam Doria of the Baby Falcons.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Entering the second round of elimination, Adamson and NU are tied for the most number of players in the top 10 with three apiece.

    The complete Week 6 rankings

    1. Joem Sabandal (AdU) (16)
    2. Terrence Fortea (NU) (3)
    3. RJ Abarrientos (FEU) (5)
    4. Kai Sotto (ADMU) (1)
    5. Gerry Abadiano (NU) (2)
    6. AP Manlapaz (AdU) (N/A)
    7. Mark Nonoy (UST) (4)
    8. Carl Tamayo (NU) (24)
    9. Bryan Sajonia (FEU) (N/A)
    10. Adam Doria (AdU) (11)
    11. Xyrus Torres (FEU) (N/A)
    12. Andrey Doria (AdU) (10)
    13. Royce Alforque (FEU) (13)
    14. Bismarck Lina (UST) (12)
    15. Ian Espinosa (ADMU) (14)
    16. Lance Jomalesa (DLSZ) (8)
    17. Didat Hanapi (AdU) (N/A)
    18. Leo Almacen (UE) (N/A)
    19. Jordi Gomez de Liano (UPIS) (N/A)
    20. Sean Manaug (UE) (N/A)
    21. Allen Torres (UPIS) (22)
    22. Jessie Sullano (UE) (N/A)
    23. Ralph Labao (UPIS) (19)
    24. Shane Dichoso (UE) (23)

    Continue reading below ↓

    This year, there will be three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

    After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result