Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Jun 7

    Incoming UP Maroons rookie Juan Gomez de Liano named MVP of Slam Rising Stars Classic

    Mar 26, 2017
    Juan Gomez de Liano proudly holds his MVP trophy. Jaime Campos

    JUAN Gomez de Liano won MVP honors after leading Team Hype to an 89-83 win over Team Punks in the 2017 Slam Rising Stars Classic High School All-Star Game at the Gatorade Hoops Dome in Mandaluyong City.

    Gomez de Liano, the reigning UAAP juniors MVP from University of the Philippines Intregrated School, finished with 16 points and seven rebounds in leading the Tony Dela Cruz-coached Team Hype to the victory.

    The incoming UP Maroons rookie connected on two free throws off an unsportsmanlike foul by Punk’s Dave Ildefonso before scoring a lay-up to give Hype an 82-75 lead nearing the final one-minute mark.

    The UP Integrated School standout showed no sign of fatigue after arriving on the morning of the match from Davao where the FMaroons seniors squad are playing in a pocket tournament.

    [See Injury scare for Germy Mahinay in Slam Rising Stars Classic]

    Will Gozum of Mapua had 13 points and eight rebounds, while LJ Gonzales of Far Eastern University finished with 11 points including four in a 13-4 run that put Hype ahead for good, 75-68.

    The All-Star game that featured the 24 best high school players selected by the publication was a competitive one as the two teams were separated by no more than eight points.

    Team Punks also kept the game close as it outscored the Team Hype, 23-19, in the third period.

    Aaron Fermin of Arellano had 14 points and 11 rebounds for the Willie Miller-mentored Team Punks, while John Lloyd Clemente of National University added 13 points. Guilmer dela Torre of Arellano chipped in 12 points.


    Germy Mahinay of San Beda and Jonas Tibayan of Chiang Kai Shek College, however, didn’t finish the game for Team Hype after suffering injuries.

    The scores:

    Team Hype (89) – Gomez de Liano 16, Gozum 13, Amsali 11, Gonzales 11, Junsay 6, Coyoca 6, Mahinay 6, Tibayan 6, Naboa 6, Abadeza 3, Minerva 3, Romero 2, Tagala 0.

    Team Punks (83) – Fermin 14, Clemente 13, Dela Torre 12, Penano 10, Mallillin 9, Ildefonso 7, Salenga 7, Oczon 5, Pagsanjan 4, Abu Hijleh 2, Roman 0.

    Quarters: 18-12, 43-37, 62-60, 89-83.

    Watch Now
    Read Next
    Watch Now
    Sorry, no results found for
    Juan Gomez de Liano proudly holds his MVP trophy. Jaime Campos
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result