Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Dec 8

    St. Clare Saints sweep De Ocampo Cobras to complete back-to-back romp in Naascu

    Oct 12, 2017

    ST. CLARE College completed a back-to-back romp in the National Athletic Association of Schools Colleges and Universities, beating De Ocampo Memorial College, 98-83, to sweep the 2017 finals at the San Andres Sports Complex in Malate, Manila.

    Aris Dionisio had with 20 points and 14 rebounds for the Saints, and was voted MVP for the second straight year.

    The Saints won the series opener, 101-79.

    Junjie Hallare added 20 points and was named to the Mythical Team, while Mohamed Pare had 19 points and a game-high 18 rebounds.

    The Saints, who won their first championship in 2012, is only the third school after UM and CEU to win three titles or more in the 17 years of Naascu.

    St. Clare coach Jino Manansala was given the Best Coach award after he tied CEU coach Egay Macaraya as the second winningest Naascu coach with three titles behind the five of UM coach Ato Tolentino.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The others in the Mythical Five were Soulemane Chabi Yo of Colegio de San Lorenzo, Dharrel Caranguian and Jonard Clarito of De Ocampo.

    San Lorenzo’s Jan Formento was named Rookie of the Year, while Caranguian was the scoring champion.

    In juniors play, Our Lady of Fatima edged St. Clare, 83-79, to complete a sweep of the finals.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos
    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result