Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sat, Dec 5

    Al Panlilio succeeds Manny Pangilinan as SBP president, assuring continuity of Gilas mission

    Aug 8, 2016
    Al Panlilio is the new president of the SBP, succeeding Manny Pangilinan. Jaime Campos

    AL Panlilio has been elected the new president of the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP), succeeding Manny V. Pangilinan as he inherits the mantle of charting the future of the sport in this basketball-crazy nation.

    Panlilio, who was Pangilinan's anointed successor, was voted into the position by a 25-man board of trustees which were earlier elected in the SBP Congress held at the Dusit Hotel in Makati.

    Panlilio, head of the MVP Sports Foundation and vice-president of Meralco, was joined by Sen. Sonny Angara as SBP chairman and former representative Robbie Puno as vice chairman.

    "I think its big shoes to fill but the program is solid and that will push on," Panlilio said.

    Panlilio was elected as one of the four representatives in the 25-man board of trustees from the professional sector. PBA chairman Robert Non, league vice chairman Erick Arejola, and commissioner Chito Narvasa were the others.

    [See MVP lays down 2020 (Olympic) vision for Gilas]

    Continue reading below ↓

    UAAP board representative Ronulado Dizer, Joe Lipa of the Philippine Collegiate Champions League, Paul Supan of the NCAA, Xavi Nunag of the National Basketball Training Center, and Melanie Florentino of the Inter-scholastic Athletic Association were elected from the school sector.

    The commercial sector was represented by Ricky Palou, Rep. Robbie Puno (Filsports basketball Association), and Jobin Uy.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Area 1 is represented by Joey Guillermo Jr., Bernardino Bermudez, and Crispulo Onrubia, while Virgilio Cortez and Rey bautista represent Area 2.

    Area 3 saw the election of Benjo Viola and Ramoncito Fernandez, while Enrico Navarro and Fr. Joseph Haw were elected from Area 4.

    Area 5 has Glenn Escandor (Duterte Basketball League) and Stephen Dacoco as representatives in the board, while Monica Jorge was elected to represent the women’s sector.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Al Panlilio is the new president of the SBP, succeeding Manny Pangilinan. Jaime Campos
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result